This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Dansk Boldspil-Union

The Danish Football Association (DBU) is the governing body of football in Denmark. It is the organization of the List of football clubs in Denmark and runs the professional Danish football leagues and the Denmark national football team and Denmark women's national football team national teams. It is based in Brøndby, and is a founding member of both FIFA and UEFA. DBU was founded in 1889, but did not register games officially before the 1908 Summer Olympics. This means, that the win in the Football at the 1906 Intercalated Games tournament was not officially recorded by DBU.

From 2008 is DBU also the governing body of futsal in Denmark.

Yearly honours

DBU awards the best Denmark national football team players each year, with an award to the best senior team player, as well as the best player in three of DBU's six national youth teams.

Player of the Year

Since 1963, DBU has awarded the Danish Player of the Year in a vote amongst the Danish players. In the time of amateur football, only players in the domestic league could achieve the prize, and even after the emergence of paid football in 1978, no players in foreign clubs were eligible for the award. When the award was finally opened to all Danish players, domestic and abroad, in 1983, national team captain Morten Olsen was the first player to win the Player of the Year award taking all Danish players into consideration. The record number of award wins is four, by Brian Laudrup (1989, 1992, 1995, and 1997).

Young Players of the Year

Sponsored by Arla Foods, the awards were initially known as Mælkens talentpriser (the milk's talent awards) in order to promote the line of dairy products of the company then known as "MD Foods". DBU found new sponsor DONG Energy (later DONG Energy), an oil company, in 2004 but Arla went on to sponsor the prize which was renamed Arla's talentpriser (Arla's talent awards) in 2005.

(- ) Players who have played at least one match for the Denmark national football team.

DBU Competitions


- Leagues
- - Danish Superliga (The SAS League)
- - Danish 1st Division (The Viasat Sport Division)
- - Danish 2nd Division (The 2nd Divisions) (Danish 2nd Division East and Danish 2nd Division West groups)
- - Danmarksserien (The Denmark Series) (3 groups)
- Cups
- - Danish Cup


- 3F Ligaen (The 3F League)
- 1. Division (1st Division)
- Danmarksserien (The Denmark Series) (3 groups)
- 3F Cup

Talk about Football in Denmark

You can discuss football in Denmark with other fans on the messageboard here.


© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum