This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Svenska Fotboll Förbundet

The Swedish Football Association ( SvFF) is the governing and head body of association football in Sweden. It organises the Swedish football league system — Allsvenskan for men and Damallsvenskan for women — and the Sweden national football team and Sweden women's national football team national teams. It is based in Solna Municipality and is a founding member of both FIFA and UEFA. SvFF is supported by 24 Swedish District Football Associations.


Svenska Fotbollförbundet (SvFF) was founded on the 18th December 1904 and is the sports federation responsible for the promotion and administration of organised football in Sweden and also represents the country the outside of Sweden. SvFF is affiliated to the Swedish Sports Confederation (RF) and the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) and Union of European Football Associations (UEFA).

Lars-Åke Lagrell has been the President since 1991. In 2009 there were 3,359 clubs affiliated to the Svenska Fotbollförbundet with a total of more than a million members, of whom about 500,000 were active players. Together, they accounted for almost one-third of the total Swedish sports movement activities.

SvFF administers Sweden's national football team, the Swedish women's national football team, other football teams and Swedish football league system including the Allsvenskan and Superettan. The motto of Swedish football – "one club in every village, football for all" – is reflected in the democratic constitution of Swedish football. All football competition in the nation is arranged by the SvFF and its 24 district organisations. The clubs are voting members at the annual meetings of the district organisations. The district organisations and the elite clubs are entitled to vote at the F.A.'s general meeting.

Since 1999 SvFF has been the sole owner of Sweden's national stadium, the Råsunda Stadium in Solna Municipality. The national arena also houses the SvFF. In 2012 a new 50,000 seated National Stadium ('Swedbank Arena') will be completed. The new venue will also be situated in Solna, not far from the present one.

Since 1995 in November of each year the Swedish Football Association Football Gala is held which includes the award for the best male player (Guldbollen) and female players (Diamantbollen).

SvFF had a turnover 2008 of 554 MSEK.

Early History

The first Swedish football championships were held in 1896 but it was 7 years later in 1903 that the Swedish Sports Confederation was formed which was to be the precursor to the Svenska Fotbollförbundet. The new organisation had a football and hockey section (hockey being the term for bandy at that time and not ice-hockey or field hockey). In 1904 Sweden was one of 7 nations that founded FIFA.

In 1906 the name Svenska Fotbollförbundet (Swedish Football Association) was officially accepted and the following year SvFF was officially voted into FIFA. On the 12th July 1908, Sweden's first international match was played in which Norway were defeated 11–3 in Göteborg. However the Olympics were a disappointment for Sweden, losing 1–12 to England and 0–2 to Holland.


Svenska Fotbollförbundet is responsible for organising the following competitions:

Men's Football

- Allsvenskan (Tier 1)
- Superettan (Tier 2)
- Swedish football Division 1 (Tier 3) – two sections
- Swedish football Division 2 (Tier 4) – six sections
- Swedish football Division 3 (Tier 5) – twelve sections
- Folksam Utvecklingsserie – two sections

Ladies Football

- Damallsvenskan (Tier 1)
- Division 1 Norrettan (Tier 2)
- Division 1 Söderettan (Tier 2)
- Division 2 (Tier 3) – nine sections


- Juniorallsvenskan
- Pojkallsvenskan


- Svenska Cupen – Men
- Svenska Cupen – Ladies
- CANAL+ Cupen – Junior Boys
- Cup Kommunal – Junior Girls

District Football Associations

Swedish football is built on a single Swedish football league system. While the SvFF administers the top leagues, the 24 district or regional associations administers youth football and the lower tier leagues from Swedish football Division 4 (men) and Division 3 (ladies), respectively, and further below.

The 24 district organisations are as follows:

- Blekinge Fotbollförbund
- Bohusläns Fotbollförbund
- Dalarnas Fotbollförbund
- Dalslands Fotbollförbund
- Gestriklands Fotbollförbund
- Göteborgs Fotbollförbund
- Gotlands Fotbollförbund
- Hallands Fotbollförbund

- Hälsinglands Fotbollförbund
- Jämtland-Härjedalens Fotbollförbund
- Medelpads Fotbollförbund
- Norrbottens Fotbollförbund
- Skånes Fotbollförbund
- Smålands Fotbollförbund
- Södermanlands Fotbollförbund
- Stockholms Fotbollförbund

- Upplands Fotbollförbund
- Värmlands Fotbollförbund
- Västerbottens Fotbollförbund
- Västergötlands Fotbollförbund
- Västmanlands Fotbollförbund
- Ångermanlands Fotbollförbund
- Örebro Läns Fotbollförbund
- Östergötlands Fotbollförbund


Talk about Football in Sweden

You can discuss football in Sweden with other fans on the messageboard here.


© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum