This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Confederação Brasileira de Futebol

The Brazilian Football Confederation ( or ) is the governing body of Association football in Brazil. It was founded on June 8, 1914, as Confederação Brasileira de Desportos (CBD), meaning Brazilian Sports Confederation. Its first president was Álvaro Zamith. It organizes the Brazilian national competitions, like Campeonato Brasileiro (disambiguation) Football (all four levels) and Copa do Brasil. CBF also administers the Brazil national football team and the Brazil women's national football team. Brazilian clubs with professional football teams are the members of CBF; the state federations, which organize the Brazilian Football State Championship, are subordinated to the CBF. Each member club is associated both to CBF and to the State's local federation, just like national associations are both members of FIFA and of the respective continental confederation.

The organization is based in Barra da Tijuca neighborhood, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro (state). The confederation owns a training center, named Granja Comary, located in Teresópolis.

It was announced on September 29, 2007 that the CBF would launch a Women's association football league and Copa do Brasil de Futebol Feminino competition in October 2007 following pressure from FIFA president Sepp Blatter during the 2007 FIFA Women's World Cup in China.

Presidents of CBF


- FIFA World Cup: 5 times (1958 FIFA World Cup, 1962 FIFA World Cup, 1970 FIFA World Cup, 1994 FIFA World Cup and 2002 FIFA World Cup)
- Copa América: 8 times (1919, 1922, 1949, 1989, 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2007)
- Confederations Cup: 3 times (Confederations Cup 1997, Confederations Cup 2005 and Confederations Cup 2009)

Talk about Football in Brazil

You can discuss football in Brazil with other fans on the messageboard here.


© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum