This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

KR Reykjavík

KR Reykjavík is a football (soccer) club from Iceland.

Talk KR Reykjavík

Are you a fan of KR Reykjavík or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss KR Reykjavík with other fans on the messageboard here.

KR Reykjavík News

Want to know more about KR Reykjavík? We gather news from various medias about KR Reykjavík and you find them in the news section

About KR Reykjavík

Knattspyrnufélag Reykjavíkur, (Icelandic language for "Reykjavík Football Club"), for short KR or KR Reykjavík, is an Icelandic athletic club based in the capital, Reykjavík. KR is the oldest and most successful club in Icelandic football.


KR was established on 16 February 1899, making it the oldest of its kind in Iceland. KR was first given the name Fótboltafélag Reykjavíkur or Reykjavik Football Club, before changing it to Knattspyrnufélag Reykjavíkur, also meaning Reykjavík Football Club, the change because "knattspyrna" is considered a more elogant word ("Fótbolti" is literally translated as "football" while "knattspyrna", while translating as "football", is literally "ballkicking"). KR was the only association football club in Reykjavík for a decade but as soon as other clubs were established there were plans for competitions. KR won the inaugural championship in Úrvalsdeild 1912 after a play-off with Knattspyrnufélagið Fram.

After winning the title the club chose to wear the colours of the English champions of that year, whoever they might be, and have since then worn the black and white stripes of Newcastle United F.C.. They won the first title after the Icelandic league was divided into two division in Úrvalsdeild 1955, and in Úrvalsdeild 1959 when the Úrvalsdeild was played on a home-and-away basis for the first time. KR also won the first VISA-bikar competition in 1960. KR was the first Icelandic club to play in European competition, facing Liverpool F.C. in 1964 (The game was also Liverpool's first European game). KR’s women's team was also the first Icelandic contender in Europe, entering the inaugural European Competition in 2001.

Recent success has made decades of waiting for major trophies look like the distant past. When KR won their twentieth title in Úrvalsdeild 1968, it was regarded as yet another title. No one could have foreseen that the club would have to wait for 31 years until its next success. Relegation to the 1. deild karla in Úrvalsdeild 1977 and heart-breaking near misses in Úrvalsdeild 1990, Úrvalsdeild 1996 and Úrvalsdeild 1998, when KR lost out in the title race on the final day, only seemed to strengthen the solidarity within the club.
In KR’s centenary year in Úrvalsdeild 1999 the men's team ended its long quest for glory in the most spectacular manner. The team had not won the league title for 31 years but nothing could stop them that year. They clinched the title with a 4–0 win over Knattspyrnufélagið Víkingur in the penultimate round and then beat Íþróttabandalag Akraness 3–1 in the cup final in front of a capacity crowd at the national stadium. The women's team was equally successful, winning the league and the cup, and KR celebrated its centenary year with an unprecedented double-double.

In total, the men's team has won the league title 25 times and the cup 12 times and during the last decade the women's team has won six league titles and twice won the cup. The men's team has four times won the double, in 1961, 1963, 1999 and in 2011.

After the season of 2006, KR introduced their new jerseys for the year of 2007. They will be playing in Nike jerseys.
KR's best European success was in UEFA Europa League 2009-2010 when they defeated AE Larissa (2–0,1–1) in the second qualifying round, but were eliminated in next round by FC Basel (2–2,1–3). In UEFA Europa League 2011-12 KR eliminated IF in the first qualifying round and achieved a big win against MSK Zilina in the next round (3–0) in Reykjavik.


KR play, as previously stated, in the black and white stripes of Newcastle United F.C.. The current sponsor of KR is the Icelandic transportation giant Eimskip. The company is well known in Iceland. Above the club badge on the shirt, although not featured in sold shirts, there are five Star (football badge). Each star represents 5 league titles. KR currently have 25 titles. On 20 October 2006, KR introduced a new deal with sport equipment manufacturer Nike, Inc. and the team will wear products from Nike, Inc. for the 2007 season.

The KR shorts are black and white and only carry the logo of Eimskip, Nike Inc. the KR badge and the squad number of the player.

The KR socks are black and white and are without a club badge

Sports played

Besides football (soccer), which is the original sport for which the club was founded, KR today also practices basketball, badminton, table tennis, bowling, darts, team handball, skiing, glíma and swimming.


KR has been playing at their own ground, KR-völlur in the west-end of Reykjavík, since 1984, having previously played at the national stadium (Laugardalsvöllur) and the old municipal stadium (Melavöllur). KR has had the highest attendances for the last nine years. Only 376 attended the first match at KR-völlur in 1984 but in the centenary year an average crowd of 2,501 saw KR’s home matches, which roughly 1% of the icelandic nation.

Selected former players

- Ríkharður Daðason
- Kristján Finnbogason
- Ólafur Gottskálksson
- Eiður Guðjohnsen
- Brynjar Gunnarsson
- Veigar Páll Gunnarsson
- Arnar Gunnlaugsson
- Rúnar Kristinsson ((Coach))
- Stefán Logi Magnússon
- Pétur Marteinsson
- Pétur Pétursson
- Indriði Sigurðsson
- Kristján Örn Sigurðsson

- Moussa Dagnogo (2001)
- Sergio Ommel (2000–01)
- Prince Rajcomar (2009)
- Mark Rutgers (2008–10)
- André Hansen (2009)
- Lars Ivar Moldskred (2010)
- Jim Bett
- Brian Hamilton (footballer)
- Barry Lavety
- Andy Roddie (2001)
- Joe Tortolano (1998)
- David Winnie (1999-00)

European cups history

As of 4 August 2011

Mens Fixtures 2010

A blue square equals a KR win while a red square equals a KR loss

Club honours

- Úrvalsdeild: 25
- - Úrvalsdeild 1912, Úrvalsdeild 1919, Úrvalsdeild 1926, 1927 Úrvalsdeild, Úrvalsdeild 1928, Úrvalsdeild 1929, Úrvalsdeild 1931, Úrvalsdeild 1932, Úrvalsdeild 1934, Úrvalsdeild 1941, Úrvalsdeild 1948, Úrvalsdeild 1949, Úrvalsdeild 1950, Úrvalsdeild 1952, Úrvalsdeild 1955, Úrvalsdeild 1959, Úrvalsdeild 1961, Úrvalsdeild 1963, Úrvalsdeild 1965, Úrvalsdeild 1968, 1999 Úrvalsdeild, 2000 Úrvalsdeild, 2002 Úrvalsdeild, 2003 Úrvalsdeild, 2011 Úrvalsdeild
- Icelandic Cup: 12
- - 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1966, 1967, 1994, 1995, 1999, 2008 Icelandic Cup, 2011
- Deildabikar: 4
- - Deildabikar 1998, Deildabikar 2001, 2005 Deildabikar, 2010 Deildabikar


- Pétur Pétursson (2000–01)
- Teitur Thordarson (2006–07)
- Logi Ólafsson (2007–10)
- Rúnar Kristinsson (2010–)

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum