This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

FSV Mainz 05

FSV Mainz 05 is a football (soccer) club from Germany.

Talk FSV Mainz 05

Are you a fan of FSV Mainz 05 or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss FSV Mainz 05 with other fans on the messageboard here.

FSV Mainz 05 News

Want to know more about FSV Mainz 05? We gather news from various medias about FSV Mainz 05 and you find them in the news section

About FSV Mainz 05

1. Fußball- und Sportverein Mainz 05 e. V., usually shortened to 1. FSV Mainz 05, Mainz 05, or simply Mainz, is a 1905 founded Football in Germany based in Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate. 1. FSV Mainz 05 play in the Fußball-Bundesliga, the top league of German football. In addition to the football section the 1. FSV Mainz 05 has a handball and table tennis department.


Early years

A failed attempt to start a football team in the city in 1903 was followed up two years later by the successful creation of 1. Mainzer Fussballclub Hassia 1905. After a number of years of play in the Süddeutschen Fußballverband (South German Football League), the club merged with FC Hermannia 07 – the former football side of Mainzer TV 1817 – to form 1. Mainzer Fussballverein Hassia 05, which dropped "Hassia" from its name in August 1912. Another merger after World War I, in 1919, with Sportverein 1908 Mainz, resulted in the formation of 1. Mainzer Fußball- und Sportverein 05. Die Nullfünfer were a solid club that earned several regional league championships in the period between the wars and qualified for the opening round of the national championships in 1921, after winning the Kreisliga Hessen.

Play under the Third Reich

In the late 1920s and early 1930s the club earned decent results in the Bezirksliga Main-HessenGruppe Hessen, including first place finishes in 1932 and 1933. This merited the team a place in the Gauliga Südwest, one of sixteen new first division leagues formed in the re-organization of German football under the Third Reich . Unfortunately, they only managed a single season at that level before being relegated. In 1938, they were forced into a merger with Reichsbahn SV Mainz and played as Reichsbahn SV Mainz 05 until the end of World War II.

Long march to the Bundesliga

After the war the team again joined the upper ranks of league play in Germany's Oberliga Südwest (1945-63), but were never better than a mid-table side. They played in the top flight until the founding of the new professional league, the Bundesliga (football), in 1963 and would go on to play as a second division side for most of the next four decades. They withdrew for a time – from the late 1970s into the late 1980s – to the Amateur Oberliga Südwest (III), as the result of a series of financial problems. Mainz earned honours as the German amateur champions in 1982.

The club returned to professional play with promotion to the 2nd Bundesliga (football) for a single season in 1988 with Bodo Hertlein as president before finally returning for an extended run in 1990. Initially, they were perennial relegation candidates, struggling hard each season to avoid being sent down. However, under unorthodox trainer Wolfgang Frank, Mainz became one of the first clubs in German soccer to adopt a flat four zone defense, as opposed to the then-popular man-to-man defense using a Libero (football).

Mainz failed in three attempts to make it to the top flight in 1997, 2002, and 2003 with close fourth place finishes just out of the promotion zone. The last failed attempt stung as they were denied promotion in the 93rd minute of the last game. A year earlier, they became the best non-promoted team of all time in the Second Bundesliga with 64 points. But their persistence paid dividends with an ascent into the Bundesliga in 2004 under the leadership of coach Jürgen Klopp. The team played three seasons in the top flight. Mainz secured promotion back to the top flight after beating 4–0 Rot-Weiß Oberhausen on 24 May 2009.

Mainz also earned a spot in the 2005–06 UEFA Cup in their debut Bundesliga season as Germany's nominee in the "Fair Play" draw which acknowledges positive play, respect for one's opponent, respect for the referee, the behaviour of the crowd and of team officials, as well as cautions and dismissals. Due to the Bruchweg stadium's limited capacity, the home games in UEFA cup were played in Frankfurt's Commerzbank-Arena. After defeating Mika F.C. and Keflavík ÍF in the qualifying rounds, Mainz lost to eventual champions Sevilla FC 2–0 on aggregate in the first round.

In the 2010–11 season Mainz equalled the Bundesliga starting record by winning their first seven games that season. They ended the season on the 5th place which was good enough to secure them their second entry to the UEFA Europa League.

Recent seasons


The club currently plays at Coface Arena, a new stadium opened in 2011 which holds over 33,000 spectators.

Die Nullfünfer previously played in Stadion am Bruchweg, built in 1928 and modified several times over the years to hold a crowd of over 20,300 spectators. Averaging crowds of about 15,000 while in the 2.Bundesliga, the team's hard won recent success had them regularly filling their venue.

Club culture

Mainz is known for being one of the three foremost carnival cities in Germany, the others being Düsseldorf and Cologne. After every Mainzer goal scored at a home game, the Narrhallamarsch, a famous German carnival tune, is played.

European Cups

- Q=Qualifying


- German amateur champions: 1982
- UEFA Fair Play selection: 2005
- Kreisliga Hessen (I) champions: 1921
- Bezirksliga Rheinhessen-Saar (I) champions: 1927
- Bezirksliga Main-Hessen (Hessen group) (I) champions: 1932, 1933
- Regionalliga Südwest (1963-74) (II) champions: 1973
- Oberliga Südwest (III) champions: 1981, 1988, 1990, 2003+, 2008+
- Amateurliga Südwest (III) champions: 1978
- DFB-Pokal semifinalists: 2009
- South West Cup winners: 1980, 1982, 1986, 2001+, 2002+, 2003+, 2004+, 2005+
- Under 19 Bundesliga (football): 2009

- + Reserve team

Notable players

- Manuel Friedrich
- Jürgen Klopp
- Dimo Wache – honorary team captain
- Sirous Dinmohammadi
- Mohamed Zidan
- Andriy Voronin
- Elkin Soto
- Abderrahim Ouakili
- Félix Borja
- Leon Andreasen
- Cha Du-Ri
- André Schürrle

For recent transfers, see List of German football transfers summer 2011 and List of German football transfers winter 2011–12.

1. FSV Mainz 05 II squad

Manager: Martin Schmidt

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum