This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

FC Metz

FC Metz is a football (soccer) club from France.

Talk FC Metz

Are you a fan of FC Metz or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss FC Metz with other fans on the messageboard here.

FC Metz News

Want to know more about FC Metz? We gather news from various medias about FC Metz and you find them in the news section

About FC Metz

Football Club de Metz, commonly referred to as simply Metz , is a Football in France club based in Metz. The club was formed in 1932 and has spent most of its history in the Ligue 1, though they currently play in Ligue 2, the second level in French football league system. Metz plays its home matches at the Stade Municipal Saint-Symphorien located within the city. The team is managed by Dominique Bijotat and Captain (association football) by midfielder Ludovic Guerriero.


FC Metz was founded in 1932 by the amalgamation of two amateur athletic clubs, and shortly thereafter became a professional team; it is one of the oldest professional football teams in France. Its roots trace back further, to the SpVgg Metz club, formed in 1905 when the city of Metz was part of the German Empire. SpVgg played in the tier-one Westkreis-Liga for a season in 1913–14, before the outbreak of the First World War stopped all play. Some players of this club were part of the Cercle Athlétique Messin in 1919, which went on to become FC Metz in 1932. Messin was a leading club in the Division d'Honneur – Lorraine, taking out league titles in 1920, 1921, 1922, 1924, 1926, 1927, 1929 and 1931.

The club played in the Ligue 2 from 1933, winning the league in 1935 and earning promotion to Ligue 1 for the first time. The team became a mid-table side in the first division until the outbreak of the war interfered with play once more. FCM did not take part in the top-tier regional competitions in 1939–40.

During the 2nd World War, the Moselle département being annexed by Germany, the club had to play under the Germanised name of FV Metz in the Gauliga Westmark. In the three completed seasons of this league from 1941 to 1944, the club finished runners-up each year.

Despite the city of Metz being retaken by allied forces in autumn 1944, the club did not take part in French league football in 1944–45 but returned to Ligue 1 in 1945–46, to come 17th out of 18 clubs. An expansion of the league to 20 clubs meant, the team was not relegated and stayed at the highest level until 1950, when a last place finish ended its Ligue 1 membership.

The club rebounded immediately, finishing second in Ligue 2, behind Olympique Lyon and returned to the first division. FC Metz made a strong return to this league, finishing fifth in its first season back. After this, the club once more had to battle against relegation season-by-season, finishing second-last in 1958 and having to return to Ligue 2. It took three seasons in this league before it could manage to return to Ligue 1 in 1961, but lasted for only one year in the top flight. FC Metz spent the next five seasons at second division level.

FC Metz ascended to the top level of French football once more in 1967; the team remained in the highest division until they were relegated in 2001, although they bounced back immediately and returned to the Ligue 1 the following year. In 2006 they were relegated again. In 1998 the team competed in the qualifications to the Uefa Champions League but lost in the third round to Finnish team HJK Helsinki.

FC Metz plays its home matches at the stade Saint-Symphorien, which has a capacity of 26,700. Its official colors are grenat (maroon) and white, from which the team derives its nickname Les Grenats. The team's crest features the Cross of Lorraine, symbolic of the team's regional affiliation, and the dragon called the Graoully, which in local legend was tamed by Saint Clement of Metz.

FC Metz also gained recognition in France and Europe for its successful youth academy, which produced star players including: Jean-Philippe Rohr, Sylvain Kastendeuch, Michel Ettore, Philippe Gaillot, Philippe Hinschberger, Carmelo Micciche, Cyril Serredzum, David Terrier, Jeff Strasser, Cyrille Pouget, Rigobert Song, Robert Pirès, Louis Saha, Nasredine Kraouche, Grégory Proment, Emmanuel Adebayor, Miralem Pjanić.


As of 1 February, 2012

Notable players

Below are the notable former players who have represented Metz in Ligue 1 and international competition since the club's foundation in 1932. To appear in the section below, a player must have played in at least 100 official matches for the club.

For a complete list of FC Metz players, see :Category:FC Metz players

- Patrick Battiston
- Jocelyn Blanchard
- Albert Cartier
- Michel Ettore
- Philippe Gaillot
- Philippe Hinschberger
- Sylvain Kastendeuch
- Lionel Letizi
- Frédéric Meyrieu
- Pascal Pierre
- Robert Pirès
- André Rey (footballer)
- Jean-Philippe Rohr
- Franck Signorino

- Luc Sonor
- Bernard Zénier
- Hugo Curioni
- Danny Boffin
- Sébastien Bassong
- Jacques Songo'o
- Rigobert Song
- Faryd Mondragón
- Nico Braun
- Jeff Strasser
- Ludovic Obraniak
- Papiss Cissé
- Eric Black
- Tony Kurbos


Current staff

Head Coach
- Dominique Bijotat

Assistant Coach
- Patrick Hesse

Goalkeeper Coach
- Jean-Pascal Singla

Championnat de France amateur
- José Pinot

- Olivier Perrin

- Sébastien Muet

- André Marie

- Luc Labeeu
- Jacques Muller

Managerial history

- Sid Kimpton (?-?)
- Ted Maghner (1937–38)
- Paul Thomas (football) (1938–39)
- Peter Fabian (1940–41)
- Charles Fosset (1944–45)
- Bep Bakhuys (1945–46)
- François Odry (1946)
- Ted Maghner (1946–47)
- Nicolas Hibst (1947)
- Charles Fosset (1947–49)
- Oscar Saggiero (1949–50)
- Ignace Kowalczyk (1950)
- Emile Veinante (1950–51)
- Elie Rous (1951–52)
- Emile Rummelhardt (1952–55)
- André Watrin (1955)
- Jacques Favre (1955–58)
- Marcel Tomazover (1958)
- Désiré Koranyi (1958–59)
- Robert Lacoste (football) (1959)
- Jules Nagy (1959–63)
- Jacques Favre (1963–66)

- Max Schirschin (1966–67)
- Max Schirschin and René Fuchs (1967–68)
- Pierre Flamion (1968–70)
- René Fuchs (1970–71)
- Jacques Favre and Robert Zvunka (1971–72)
- René Vernier (1972–75)
- Georges Huart (1975–78)
- Marc Rastoll (1978–79)
- Marc Rastoll and Jean Snella (1979–80)
- Henryk Kasperczak (1980–84)
- Marcel Husson (1984–89)
- Henri Depireux (1989 – December 89)
- Joël Muller (December 1989 – December 2000)
- Albert Cartier (December 2000 – 2 January)
- Francis De Taddeo (January 2002)
- Gilbert Gress (January 2002-02)
- Jean Fernandez (2002–05)
- Joël Muller (2005–06)
- Francis De Taddeo (2006–07)
- Yvon Pouliquen (2007–10)
- Joël Muller (2010)
- Dominique Bijotat (2010–)


FC Metz has never won the French championship; its best result was a second-place finish in 1998, behind RC Lens. Metz won the Coupe de France twice, in 1984 and 1988, the first of these victories enabled it to qualify for the European Cup Winners' Cup where it achieved arguably the team's greatest moment, an upset of FC Barcelona in the first round of the competition in October 1984. It lost 4–2 at home in the first leg but won 4–1 away in the return leg, thus qualifying 6–5 on aggregate. FC Metz also won the Coupe de la Ligue twice, in 1986 and 1996, and has made a total of ten appearances in European tournaments.

- Ligue 2
- - Winners (2): French football Division 2 1934–35, 2006–07 Ligue 2
- Coupe de France
- - Winners (2): 1984 Coupe de France Final, 1988 Coupe de France Final
- - Runners-up (1): 1938 Coupe de France Final
- Coupe de la Ligue
- - Winners (2): Coupe de la Ligue, 1996 Coupe de la Ligue Final
- - Runners-up (1): 1999 Coupe de la Ligue Final

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum