This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

FC Lahti

FC Lahti is a football (soccer) club from Finland.

Talk FC Lahti

Are you a fan of FC Lahti or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss FC Lahti with other fans on the messageboard here.

FC Lahti News

Want to know more about FC Lahti? We gather news from various medias about FC Lahti and you find them in the news section

About FC Lahti

FC Lahti is a Finland football (soccer) club, based in the town of Lahti. It currently plays in the Finnish First Division (Ykkönen) after placing last in Finnish Premier League (Veikkausliiga) during season 2010. The homeground of FC Lahti is Lahden Stadion.


FC Lahti was founded in 1996 when two time-honoured archrival clubs from Lahti - FC Kuusysi and Reipas Lahti (Founded in Vyborg and moved to Lahti after Viipuri was ceded to USSR in 1947) - decided to end their time in Finnish top-football and create a new club to make people of Lahti proud. Also the reserve club FC Pallo-Lahti was formed, but it was closed down after a couple of seasons due to economic difficulties. Both Reipas and Kuusysi controlled the junior section of the club.

FC Lahti played its first season, 1997, in the southern group of Ykkönen, the second tier of Finnish football. It finished second in the first half of the split league format type league system, but was placed third in the final half behind FC Haka and PK-35 which were promoted to Veikkausliiga. The next season, 1998, was victorious and FC Lahti finally gained promotion to the highest tier until relegating at the end of the season 2010.

In the premier division Lahti hasn't yet achieved as much as Kuusysi and Reipas did. In 2007 Lahti won the Finnish League Cup. In 2008 FC Lahti was third in the Veikkausliiga final table and took a place for Uefa Europa League qualification rounds season 2009.


- Finnish League Cup (1):
- - 2007

FC Lahti in Europe

Lahti were Liverpool's first European opponents following the English club European ban in the wake of the Heysel disaster. Although they lost the first leg at Anfield 6-1 they defeated Liverpool 1-0 in the second leg in Finland thanks to a goal from Mike Belfield.

As of July 23, 2009.

Season to season

- 12 seasons in Veikkausliiga
- 3 seasons in Ykkönen

- Indrek Zelinski
- Tuomas Haapala
- Njazi Kuqi
- Pekka Lagerblom
- Jari Litmanen
- Petri Pasanen
- Berat Sadik
- Petri Tiainen
- Mika Väyrynen
- Michał Sławuta
- Péter Kovács (footballer)


- Esa Pekonen (1998–99)
- Jari Pyykölä (1999–01)
- Harri Kampman (2002–05)
- Antti Muurinen (2006–07)
- Ilkka Mäkelä (2008–10)
- Tommi Kautonen (2011–)

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum