This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Tampere United

Tampere United is a football (soccer) club from Finland.

Talk Tampere United

Are you a fan of Tampere United or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Tampere United with other fans on the messageboard here.

Tampere United News

Want to know more about Tampere United? We gather news from various medias about Tampere United and you find them in the news section

About Tampere United

Tampere United is a Finland football (soccer) club, which played in the Veikkausliiga, the premier football league in Finland, until the 2010 season, but is currently excluded from participating in Finnish football. The club comes from the city of Tampere. The current head coach of the club is Jarkko Wiss, who succeeded Ari Hjelm on 29 October 2010.


The club was formed in July 1998. The initial plan was to join two local football clubs FC Ilves and Tampereen Pallo-Veikot but TPV decided to continue as its own team. FC Ilves continued to play in lower divisions and Tampere United inherited its place in the second highest division.

In their first season, 1999 they won promotion to the top division, 15 months after the formation of the club. During season 2000 they reached sixth place in the league. In their third season 2001 they won the Finnish championship. In 2002, they finished in fifth place, and in 2003, third place. In 2006, Tampere United won their 2nd Finnish Championship and one year later, in 2007, they were the champions yet again taking home their 3rd title.

On 14 April 2011 the club were suspended indefinitely by the Finnish Football Association because they had received money from a dubious company based in Singapore, known for involvement in fixed games, and they have therefore been excluded from the 2011 season of the Veikkausliiga.

Season 2007

During the 2007 season, Tampere United reached the third qualifying round of the Champions League by beating Bulgarian champions PFC Levski Sofia 2–0 on aggregate in the second qualifying round. Tampere United failed to reach the Champions League group stage when Rosenborg B.K defeated them 5–0 on aggregate. On the UEFA Cup first round, United lost to FC Girondins de Bordeaux 4–3 on aggregate.

Tampere United won the Finnish championship in 2007.


- Veikkausliiga: Winners (3)
- - Veikkausliiga 2001, Veikkausliiga 2006, Veikkausliiga 2007
- Finnish Cup: Winners (1)
- - 2007
- Finnish League Cup: Winners (1)
- - 2009

Tampere United in Europe

Season to season

- 11 seasons in Veikkausliiga
- 1 season in Ykkönen

- Jari Niemi
- Antti Pohja
- Jussi Kujala
- Jussi Kuoppala
- Sakari Saarinen
- Tomi Petrescu
- Jonne Hjelm
- Henri Myntti
- Jarkko Wiss
- Pasi Salmela
- Ville Lehtinen
- Janne Räsänen
- Petri Heinänen
- Juska Savolainen
- Vili Savolainen
- Mathias Lindström
- Vasile Marchiş
- Dionisio
- Rafael Scapini de Almeida
- Aristides Pertot
- Noah Hickey
- Lee Jones (New Zealand footballer)
- Gerard Davis
- Chris James (footballer)
- Levent Osman
- Tyler Hemming
- Iban Parra

UEFA ranking

Current Club Ranking

Current National League ranking

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum