This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Deportivo Quito

Deportivo Quito is a football (soccer) club from Ecuador.

Talk Deportivo Quito

Are you a fan of Deportivo Quito or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Deportivo Quito with other fans on the messageboard here.

Deportivo Quito News

Want to know more about Deportivo Quito? We gather news from various medias about Deportivo Quito and you find them in the news section

About Deportivo Quito

Sociedad Deportivo Quito is a Ecuadorian professional Association football club based in Quito. They play in the Ecuadorian Serie A, the highest level of the Ecuadorian professional football league where they are the current champions.

Deportivo Quito has won five Serie A titles in 1964, 1968, 2008, 2009, and 2011. This places them fifth overall. The club also has four Interandean Tournament titles in 1955, 1956, 1957, and 1963. Additionally, the club was runner up in 1985, 1988, and 1997. Based on its style of play, sports journalists and fans nicknamed the club La Academia de los Ecuatorianos desde 1940 .

Deportivo Quito was officially founded in 1955, although they trace their roots to Sociedad Deportiva Argentina, which was founded on July 9, 1940. Historic rivals include Liga Deportiva Universitaria de Quito, Sociedad Deportiva Aucas, and Club Deportivo El Nacional. They play their home games at Estadio Olímpico Atahualpa.


The club was founded on July 9, 1940, under the name Sociedad Deportiva Argentina. On October 1, 1954, the club, together with Sociedad Deportiva Aucas & Sociedad Deportiva España, founded Asociación de Fútbol No Amateur (AFNA) de Pichincha Province (Spanish for Non-Amateur Football Association of Pichincha). This was followed by provincial professional soccer tournaments. In accordance with AFNA bylaws, which stipulated that no team could be named after a country (except after Spain), the shareholders of Argentina got together and changed the club's name to Sociedad Deportivo Quito.

The 50's and 60's were fruitful decades for Deportivo Quito with the club obtaining National Championship titles in 1964 and 1968 as well as Interandean Championships (named so for inclusion of teams from both Quito and Ambato) in 1955, 1956, 1957 and 1963. The 70's were a dark period for the club, which descended and spent several seasons in the second tier Serie B de Ecuador of the Ecuadorian Football League. The 80's and 90's brought a return measure of success for the club which came in as runners up in 1985, 1988, 1997 and qualified to participate in Copa Libertadores. 1989 also saw the transfer of one of the brightest players in Ecuadorian soccer history, Álex Aguinaga to Club Necaxa of Mexico.

The club would wait forty years for its third championship and after a brilliant campaign in 2008, which saw Deportivo Quito in the lead throughout the tournament, the team sealed its third star against Club Social y Deportivo Macara of Ambato. 2009 began fraught with problems for the club. Although it was able to hold on to its star player Luis Saritama on loan, economic problems dogged the club throughout the year. As a result early tournamant action saw the club mired in the middle half of the table. The next two phases of the tournament were a different story as the defense, solidified with the incorporation of the Ecuadorian National team captain Ivan Hurtado, led the club to top of the table finishes. This set up the final playoff against Deportivo Cuenca. Following a 1-1 tie in Cuenca, the two teams played an exciting game in Quito which saw back and forth action ending 3-2 in favor of Deportivo Quito. The team's fourth star was not nearly as elusive as the third. In the 2010 season Deportivo Quito earned a third place finish after surpassing Barcelona Sporting Club in a home and home playoff. 2011 saw a dominating performance from Deportivo Quito, in which they won 26 games, tied 11 and only lost 9. Following 1-0 victories over Club Sport Emelec in Quito and Guayaquil, Deportivo Quito earned its fifth star. Fans celebrated the long awaited 2008 as well as the follow-up 2009 and 2011 championships in the popular Plaza del Teatro in Quito.


Their home games are played in the Estadio Olímpico Atahualpa in the city of Quito but there have been plans to build a stadium for the year 2010 on their current training grounds Ney Mancheno in Carcelén.

On November 13, 2008, Deportivo Quito's management presented the model of the new stadium. This stadium will have a capacity of 20,000 people. The building project includes the construction of a shopping mall attached to the same stadium that will serve as a source of revenue for the institution.

Noted players

- Marcelo Elizaga
- Carlos Alberto Juárez (Cuqui)
- Eduardo Lell
- Martín Mandra
- Osvaldo Ozzán
- Javier Páez
- Marcos Pirchio
- Carlos Alberto Raffo
- Sergio Antonio Saucedo
- Mario Vanemerak
- Mauricio Donoso
- Álex Aguinaga
- Juan Francisco Aguinaga
- Michael Arroyo
- Marlon Ayoví
- Jhonny Baldeón
- Sandro Borja

- Geovanny Caicedo
- Jayro Campos
- Héctor Carabalí
- Nixon Carcelén
- Polo Carrera
- Michael Castro
- Luis Checa
- Franklin Corozo
- Jorge Corozo
- José Luis Cortez
- Ulises de la Cruz
- John Antonio García
- Luis Gómez (footballer)
- Juan Guamán
- Ernesto Guerra
- Raúl Guerrón
- Fernando Hidalgo

- Iván Hurtado (Bamm-Bamm Rubble)
- Oswaldo Ibarra
- Segundo Matamba
- Fidel Martínez
- Édison Méndez
- Oswaldo Minda
- Ebelio Ordóñez
- Pablo Palacios
- Luis Saritama
- Carlos Sevilla
- Edwin Tenorio
- Juan Triviño
- Edder Vaca
- Wilfrido Vinces
- Daniel Viteri
- José Carlos Fernández (Peruvian footballer)
- Víctor Manuel Battaini


- Campeonato Professional Interandino (4): 1955, 1956, 1957, 1963
- Ecuadorian Serie A (5): 1964 Campeonato Ecuatoriano de Fútbol, 1968, 2008 Campeonato Ecuatoriano de Fútbol Serie A, 2009 Campeonato Ecuatoriano de Fútbol Serie A, 2011 Campeonato Ecuatoriano de Fútbol Serie A
- Ecuadorian Serie B (1): 1980 E1

Performance in CONMEBOL competitions
- Copa Libertadores: 9 participations (1965 Copa Libertadores, 1969 Copa Libertadores, 1986 Copa Libertadores, 1989 Copa Libertadores, 1998 Copa Libertadores, 2009 Copa Libertadores, 2010 Copa Libertadores, 2011 Copa Libertadores, 2012 Copa Libertadores)
- - Best performance: Round of 16 (1989)
- Copa Sudamericana: 4 participations (2008 Copa Sudamericana, 2010 Copa Sudamericana, 2011 Copa Sudamericana, 2012 Copa Sudamericana)
- - Best performance: Second round (2008)

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum