This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Yokohama F. Marinos

Yokohama F. Marinos is a football (soccer) club from Japan.

Talk Yokohama F. Marinos

Are you a fan of Yokohama F. Marinos or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Yokohama F. Marinos with other fans on the messageboard here.

Yokohama F. Marinos News

Want to know more about Yokohama F. Marinos? We gather news from various medias about Yokohama F. Marinos and you find them in the news section

About Yokohama F. Marinos

is a Japanese association football team that participates in the fully professional J. League Division 1; the top Japanese professional football league. Having won the J-League title three times and finished second twice, they are one of the most successful J-League clubs. The team are based in Yokohama and were founded as the company team of Nissan Motors. The club was formed by the merger of Yokohama Marinos and Yokohama Flügels in J. League 1999. The current name is intended to reflect both Marinos and Flügels. The team name Marinos means "sailors" in Spanish language. Yokohama F. Marinos are the longest serving team in the top flight of Japanese football having played at the top level since Japan Soccer League 1982, also making them one of only J._League_records Club to have competed in Japan's top flight of football every year since its inception.


In 1973, the team started as the Nissan Motors F.C. based in Yokohama, and were promoted to the Japan Soccer League Division 2 in 1976. They took necessary steps like building a friendly relationship with local high schools and universities and starting junior teams for school kids to be a winning team. Under the first paid or professional team manager in Japan Shu Kamo, the team won championships in 1988 and 1989 as well as the Japan Soccer League Cup and Emperor's Cup winning The Treble in Japan at that time.

In 1991, it was one of the founding members of the J. League. In 1998, after losing one of their primary sponsors, it was announced that crosstown rivals Yokohama Flügels would merge with Marinos. Since then, an F was added to the name to represent the Flügels half of the club. Many Flügels fans rejected the merger, rather believing their club to have been dissolved into Marinos. As a result, they refused to follow F. Marinos and instead created Yokohama F.C., F. Marinos' new crosstown rivals. In 2010, Shunsuke Nakamura made a come-back to Yokohama F. Marinos.

The team's home stadiums are Nissan Stadium, otherwise known as International Stadium Yokohama, and Mitsuzawa Stadium. However, the squad trains in the newly constructed Marinos Town in the Minato Mirai area of Yokohama.

Affiliated Clubs

- Auckland City FC
- PSIR Rembang


As of January 15, 2012






The official club website lists the club mascot as player 0 and the supporters as player 12.

Retired Number

Out on loan

2012 Season Transfers

International Players

- Ramón Medina Bello
1998 FIFA World Cup
- Masami Ihara
- Shoji Jo
- Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi
- Norio Omura
2002 FIFA World Cup
- Naoki Matsuda
2006 FIFA World Cup
- Yuji Nakazawa
2010 FIFA World Cup
- Shunsuke Nakamura
- Yuji Nakazawa

Record as J. League member

{: (1) 1976
- Japan Soccer League Division 1: (2) 1988-89, 1989–90
- JSL Cup: (3) 1988, 1989, 1990
- Emperor's Cup: (5) 1983, 1985, 1988, 1989, 1991
- Asian Cup Winners Cup: (1) Asian Cup Winners Cup 1992

Yokohama Marinos / Yokohama F.Marinos

- J. League: (3) 1995, 2003, 2004
- Emperor's Cup: (1) 1992
- J. League Cup: (1) 2001
- Asian Cup Winners Cup: (1) 1992-93


Nissan FC

Japan Soccer League Most Valuable Player

- Tetsuji Hashiratani (1988-89)
- Kazushi Kimura (1989-90)

Japan Soccer League Best Eleven

- Takeshi Koshida, Nobutoshi Kaneda, Kazushi Kimura, Koichi Hashiratani (1983)
- Takashi Mizunuma, Kazushi Kimura, Koichi Hashiratani (1984)
- Kazushi Kimura (1985/86)
- Takashi Mizunuma (1986/87)
- Jose Oscar Bernardi, Toru Sano, Takashi Mizunuma (1987/88)
- Shigetatsu Matsunaga, Jose Oscar Bernardi, Toru Sano, Takashi Mizunuma, Kazushi Kimura, Kenta Hasegawa, Koichi Hashiratani (1988-89)
- Tetsuji Hashiratani, Shinji Tanaka, Kazushi Kimura, Carlos Renato Frederico (1989-90)
- Shigetatsu Matsunaga, Tetsuji Hashiratani, Carlos Renato Frederico (1990-91)
- Shigetatsu Matsunaga, Tetsuji Hashiratani, Masami Ihara (1991-92)

Japan Soccer League Top Scorer

- Carlos Renato Frederico (1989-90)(1990-91)

Japan Soccer League Assists Leaders

- Kazushi Kimura (1984)
- Takashi Mizunuma (1986/87)

Japan Soccer League Best Goalkeeper

- Shigetatsu Matsunaga (1988-89),(1990-91)

Japan Soccer League Rookie of the Year

- Koichi Hashiratani (1983)
- Masami Ihara (1990-91)

Yokohama Marinos / Yokohama F.Marinos

J. League Most Valuable Player

- Shunsuke Nakamura (2000)
- Yuji Nakazawa (2004)

J. League Top Scorer

- Ramón Díaz (1993)

J. League Best Eleven

- Shigetatsu Matsunaga, Masami Ihara, Ramón Díaz (1993)
- Masami Ihara (1994)
- Masami Ihara, Masaharu Suzuki (1995)
- Masami Ihara (1996)
- Masami Ihara (1997)
- Shunsuke Nakamura (1999)
- Naoki Matsuda, Shunsuke Nakamura (2000)
- Naoki Matsuda (2002)
- Yuji Nakazawa, Daisuke Oku, Tatsuhiko Kubo, Dutra (2003)
- Yuji Nakazawa, Daisuke Oku, Dutra (2004)
- Yuji Nakazawa (2005)
- Yuji Nakazawa (2008)

J. League Rookie of the Year

- Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi (1995)
- Daisuke Nasu (2003)
- Kazuma Watanabe (2009)

J. League Manager of the Year

- Takeshi Okada (2003-2004)

J. League Fair Play

- Daisuke Sakata (2007)

J. League Yamazaki Nabisco Cup Most Valuable Player

- Tatsuya Enomoto (2001)

Captains of Yokohama Marinos / Yokohama F.Marinos

- Shigetatsu Matsunaga (1993)
- Masami Ihara (1994-1998)
- Yoshiharu Ueno (1999-2000)
- Norio Omura (2001)
- Naoki Matsuda (2002-2003)
- Daisuke Oku (2004)
- Yuji Nakazawa (2005)
- Naoki Matsuda (2006)
- Yuji Nakazawa (2007)
- Ryuji Kawai (2008-2009)
- Yuzo Kurihara (2010)
- Shunsuke Nakamura (2011)


{| class="wikitable"

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum