This website is for sale, please contact us for more information
  • No data

Granada CF

Granada CF is a football (soccer) club from Spain.

Talk Granada CF

Are you a fan of Granada CF or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Granada CF with other fans on the messageboard here.

Granada CF News

Want to know more about Granada CF? We gather news from various medias about Granada CF and you find them in the news section

About Granada CF

Granada Club de Fútbol is a List of football clubs in Spain based in Granada, in the autonomous community of Andalusia. Founded on 14 April 1931, it currently plays in La Liga, holding home matches at Estadio Nuevo Los Cármenes.

Granada was the third Andalusian football team after Sevilla FC and Real Betis to compete in La Liga, in 1941–42 La Liga.


Granada Club de Fútbol was founded on 14 April 1931, originally as Recreativo de Granada; the first president was Julio López Fernández.

The first football match was played against Deportivo Jaén, which resulted in a 2–1 victory. The first goal in the match, and in the club's history, was scored by Antonio Bombillar. In the 1931–32 season, the club won the Tercera Regional - Región Sur championship.

After several promotions, in 1941–42 the club made its La Liga debut. From here until the '80s, it alternated between that category and Segunda División, with its golden age coming during the '70s, with eight top flight seasons, which included a career-best two sixth league places (1971–72 La Liga, 1973–74 La Liga).

In 1959 Granada achieved its greatest sports landmark, being 1958–59 Copa del Rey of the Copa del Rey (later Copa del Rey). In 1958–59 Copa del Rey Final, played at the Santiago Bernabéu Stadium, the team lost to FC Barcelona 4–1.

In the 1980s, Granada had some brief appearances in the second division, but it spent most seasons in Segunda División B, Tercera División in 2002–03 Segunda División B, due to non-payment to its players. After four seasons in the third division, former Real Madrid C.F. president Lorenzo Sanz, along with his son Paco, arrived at the club. With their help, the Andalusia side was again promoted to the third category.

In 2006–07 Segunda División B, Granada played in Group IV of the third level after four seasons in Tercera División. Three years later, in July 2009, the club was in such financial difficulty that it was on the brink of closing. The solution to the crisis came with the signing of a partnership agreement with Udinese Calcio, with the Spaniards incorporating large numbers of players contracted to the Italian club as well as receiving its youth players and reserves as part of the agreement.


- 18 seasons in La Liga
- 31 seasons in Segunda División
- 22 seasons in Segunda División B
- 5 seasons in Tercera División (third level before 1977–78)
- 2 seasons in Divisiones Regionales de Fútbol

The numbers are established according to the official website:

Out on loan



- Segunda División: 1940–41 Segunda División, 1956–57 Segunda División, 1967–68 Segunda División
- Segunda División B: 1982–83 Segunda División B, 1999–2000 Segunda División B, 2009–10 Segunda División B
- Tercera División: 1933–34 Tercera División, 2003–04 Tercera División, 2005–06 Tercera División
- Copa del Rey: Runner-up 1958–59 Copa del Rey


- Antonio Puerta Trophy: 2010


Pichichi Trophy

- La Liga: :es:Enrique Porta (1971–72 La Liga)
- Segunda División: Miguel (1964–65 Segunda División), Rafa (1955–56 Segunda División)

Andalusia Derby


After its foundation the team played its local matches at Campo de Las Tablas, inaugurated on 20 December 1931. The existence of this field ground is short because, on 23 December 1934, a new stadium was opened: Estadio Los Cármenes.

The club played in this stadium until 1995 when a new facility, named Estadio Nuevo Los Cármenes, took its place. It was inaugurated on 16 May 1995, with a capacity of 16,212 seats originally and was expanded to 22,524 after the last promotion to La Liga in the summer of 2011.

- Dimensions: 105x68 meters.
- Address: C/ Pintor Manuel Maldonado s/n.
- Inauguration date: 16 May 1995, Real Madrid-Bayer 04 Leverkusen (1–0)
- First Granada CF match: 22 August 1995, Granada-Real Betis (4–1) Los Cármenes Trophy

Uniform and colours

Upon its foundation, club colours were a shirt with blue and white vertical stripes and white shorts. After the Spanish Civil War the club owners went to Madrid to buy new ones, they couldn't find others than red and white stripes shirts which became the official colour until present.

At the end of the 1970s, the club changed the vertical to horizontal stripes to cheer the supporters. Since then, several changes (between horizontal and vertical) took place until 2004–05, when in a member assembly it was decided to use horizontal stripes definitively.

Shirt sponsors and manufacturers

Famous players

- Ramón Aguirre Suárez
- Juan Bautista Agüero
- Gustavo Benítez
- Carlos António Gomes
- Antonio Notario
- Arsenio Iglesias
- Capi (footballer born 1977)
- César Rodríguez Álvarez

- José Mingorance
- Pahiño
- Pirri
- José Antonio Grande
- Ladislao Mazurkiewicz
- Denís Milar
- Julio Montero

see also

Famous coaches

- Marcel Domingo
- Jenő Kalmár
- Francisco Bru Sanz
- Francisco Chaparro Jara
- Miguel Muñoz
- Joaquín Peiró
- Manuel Ruiz Sosa

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum