This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Atlético Paranaense

Atlético Paranaense is a football (soccer) club from Brazil.

Talk Atlético Paranaense

Are you a fan of Atlético Paranaense or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Atlético Paranaense with other fans on the messageboard here.

Atlético Paranaense News

Want to know more about Atlético Paranaense? We gather news from various medias about Atlético Paranaense and you find them in the news section

About Atlético Paranaense

Clube Atlético Paranaense is a Brazilian Football League Teams from Curitiba in Paraná (state), founded on March 26, 1924. The club won the Campeonato Brasileiro Série A in 2001.


Paranaense was born as the result of a merge between two older Curitiba teams, Internacional Futebol Clube and América Foot-Ball Club (PR). The merger was announced on March 21, 1924 and formalized five days later, on March 26, when the club changed its name and its colors; the new board of directors also assumed the administration of the club. The chosen club's field was Internacional's old field, called Água Verde.

The club's first match was played on April 6, when Paranaense beat Universal FC 4-2 . Its first competitive match was on the 1924 Campeonato Paranaense, when they were beaten 6-3 by arch-rivals Coritiba Foot Ball Club. By participating in several championships with a good team, the club won its first Campeonato Paranaense title in 1925, establishing the club as one of the main clubs in its state. In 1934, Paranaense acquired the groundplot where the Arena da Baixada is located.

In 1949, the club won its ninth Paranaense State Championship, which gave them the nickname of Hurricane (meaning hurricane, in English language) - attributed to the club for its great campaign in the competition. Since then, Furacão has been the club's nickname.

In 1995 after Coritiba beat Paranaense 5-1, a new board of directors took over the control of the club, and started a strategic project called "Atlético Total".

C.A. Paranaense was the first Paranaense club to participate in the Torneio Roberto Gomes Pedrosa, today known as the Campeonato Brasileiro Série A. In 2001, Paranaense won its first Campeonato Brasileiro Série A, after defeating Associação Desportiva São Caetano; and in 2004 was runner-up, with the striker Washington Stecanela Cerqueira scoring a record 34 goals in a single edition of the Campenato Brasileiro.

So far, Paranaense has participated in three editions of the Copa Libertadores, in 2000, 2002 and 2005. In the 2000 edition the club was eliminated in the second round and in Copa Libertadores 2005 Paranaense was the runner-up of the competition after being defeated by São Paulo Futebol Clube.

A survey taken in 2005 by Paraná Pesquisas Institute showed that Paranaense has the largest amount of supporters in Curitiba.

In 2006 Clube Atlético Paranaense had a good performance in the Copa Sudamericana, reaching the semifinals after defeating high-profile teams like Argentina's Club Atlético River Plate and Uruguay's Club Nacional de Football. In 2007, the team partnered with the American MLS club FC Dallas. In 2010 they also announced a partnership with Vitesse Arnhem in Holland.


National competitions

- File:Flag_of_Brazil.svg Campeonato Brasileiro Série A: 1 - 2001

- File:Flag_of_Brazil.svg Campeonato Brasileiro Série B: 1 - 1995

Regional competitions

- File:Bandeira_do_Paraná.svg Campeonato Paranaense: 22 - 1925, 1929, 1930, 1934, 1936, 1940, 1943, 1945, 1949, 1958, 1970, 1982, 1983, 1985, 1988, 1990, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2009
- File:Bandeira_do_Paraná.svg Parana Cup: 2 - 1998, 2003

International competitions

- File:Flag_of_the_United_States_(Pantone).svg Dallas Cup: 2 - 2004, 2005
- File:Flag_of_the_United_States_(Pantone).svg Challenger Brazil/USA - CA Paranaense x FC Dallas: 3 - 2006, 2007, 2009
- File:Flag_of_Trinidad_and_Tobago.svg Shaka Hislop: 1 - 2007
- File:Flag_of_Switzerland_(Pantone).svg Internationalen Schützi-Cup: 1 - 1991

History in competitions

(- ): Not participated


Home stadium is the Estádio Joaquim Américo, built in 1914 and renovated in 1999, traditionally known as Arena da Baixada but more recently naming rights Kyocera Arena, capacity 25,272. The contract with Kyocera that gave the Stadium the naming rights expired in 2008 and it was not renewed and no new partnership was announced. The stadium went back to his original name Arena da Baixada.

Paranaense has completed the fourth stand of Arena da Baixada in preparation for the 2014 World Cup. Money from companies came to finish the stadium to 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Team colors

The team plays in black with red vertical stripes, black shorts and black socks.

As of January 21, 2012

Players with Dual Nationality
- Gustavo Lazzaretti de Araújo
- Federico Nieto

Out on loan

(loan to Botafogo Futebol Clube (SP))
(loan to Goiás Esporte Clube)

(loan to Ceará Sporting Club)

Coaching staff

Notable players

- Alex Mineiro
- Hilderaldo Bellini
- Djalma Santos
- Flávio Emídio dos Santos Vieira
- Fernandinho
- Kléber Pereira

- Ilan Araújo Dall'Igna
- Cocito
- Benedito de Assis da Silva
- Lucas Severino
- Oséas

- Jádson
- Paulo Rink
- Paulo Baier
- Washington César Santos
- Washington (footballer)

International players

- Paulo Rink
- Adriano Gabiru
- Benedito de Assis da Silva
- Hilderaldo Bellini
- Alfredo Gottardi
- Djalma Santos

- Ilan Araújo Dall'Igna
- José Kléberson
- Oséas
- Roberto Costa
- Washington César Santos
- Washington (footballer)

- Edwin Valencia
- David Arturo Ferreira Rico
- Dayro Moreno
- Carlos Fernando Navarro Montoya
- Julián Viáfara
- Joffre Guerrón

- Felipe Baloy
- Julio dos Santos
- Krzysztof Nowak
- Mariusz Piekarski
- Gustavo Matosas

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum