This website is for sale, please contact us for more information
  • No data


Ceara is a football (soccer) club from Brazil.

Talk Ceara

Are you a fan of Ceara or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Ceara with other fans on the messageboard here.

Ceara News

Want to know more about Ceara? We gather news from various medias about Ceara and you find them in the news section

About Ceara

Ceará Sporting Club, or Ceará as they are usually called, is a Brazilian Football League Teams from Fortaleza in Ceará, founded on June 2, 1914.

Ceará's is also one of the most traditional clubs in the Northeast region of Brazil alongside Esporte Clube Bahia, Santa Cruz Futebol Clube, Sport Club do Recife, Clube Náutico Capibaribe, Esporte Clube Vitória and Fortaleza Esporte Clube.


On June 2, 1914, the club was founded as Rio Branco Football Club by Gilberto Gurgel, Walter Barroso, Raimundo Justa, Newton Rôla, Bolívar Purcell, Aluísio Mamede, Orlando Olsen, José Elias Romcy, Isaías Façanha de Andrade, Raimundo Padilha, Rolando Emílio, Meton Alencar Pinto, Gotardo Morais, Artur de Albuquerque, Luís Esteves Júnior, Cincinato Costa, Carlos Calmon and Eurico Medeiros. As Rio Branco Football Club, the team colors were white and Lilac (color).

In 1915, in their first birthday, the club change its name to Ceará Sporting Club.

From 1915 to 1919, Ceará was five times in a row champion of the Torneios Metropolitanos. In 1941, Ceará won the Campeonato Cearense in the same year of the inauguration of Estádio Presidente Vargas (Ceará) stadium. From 1961 to 1963, the club was three times in a row state champion. In 1969, Ceará won the Copa Norte-Nordeste.

In 1970, ended the seven-year titleless state championship period. In 1971, Ceará was the last placed team in Campeonato Brasileiro Série A 1971 first edition. From 1975 to 1978, the club was four times in a row state champion.

In 1985, Ceará finished in Campeonato Brasileiro Série A 7th position. This is the best participation of a team of Ceará State in Brazilian Championships all time. In 1994, the club was the Runner-up of Copa do Brasil. In the final, the club was beat by Grêmio Foot-Ball Porto Alegrense. In 1995, Ceará disputed Copa CONMEBOL, the club's first international championship, becoming the only club of Ceará to play an International Tournament. In 1996, the team administrator was Forró bands businessman Emanuel Gurgel. The team changed its home shirt to an all black one. Because of this, the team was nicknamed "Urubu do Nordeste" (Northeast Vulture), a reference to Clube de Regatas do Flamengo's mascot, a vulture. From 1996 to 1999, the club was four times in a row state champion.

In 2002, Ceará won the state championship after 3 years. In 2005, Ceará reached Brazilian Cup semi-final. The club was defeated by Fluminense Football Club. In 2006, the club won the state championship after 4 years without winning the competition.



- Campeonato Cearense: ( 1)
- - Winners (39): 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918, 1919, 1922, 1925, 1931, 1932, 1939, 1941, 1942, 1948, 1951, 1957, 1958, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1971, 1972, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1981, 1984, 1986, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2006

- Copa Norte-Nordeste:
- - Winners (1): 1969

- Copa do Brasil:
- - Runners-up (1): Copa do Brasil 1994
- - Semifinalists (1): Copa do Brasil 2005

- Copa Verão do Recife:
- - Winners (1): 1997

1: Liga Metropolitana Cearense was considered by the local federation as State League ("Campeonato Cearense").


- Campeonato Cearense de Futsal:
- - Winners (3): 2002, 2003, 2004


Home venue is Carlos de Alencar Pinto (CAP) Stadium, with capacity for 10,000 people, but the team only plays at Castelão (Ceará) which has a 60,326 supporters, and at Estádio Presidente Vargas (Ceará), which has a 22,228 capacity.


Joma, FIAT


Ceará's greatest rival is Fortaleza Esporte Clube. It is the biggest derby in Fortaleza city. It was played 511 times, and Ceará won it 174 times, Fortaleza won 156 times and there were 176 draws.

Ceará's second biggest rival is Ferroviário Atlético Clube, the third biggest club of Fortaleza city. This derby was played 272 times, with 123 wins for Ceará, 64 wins for Ferroviário and there also 85 draws.


The team mascot, an old man known as "Vovô" ("Grandpa") dressing Ceará uniform was designed by Ceará cartoonist Mino for the "Ceará: Paixão Total" Project ("Ceará: Full Passion" Project).

The Mascot appears in late 1919 when Meton Alencar Pinto used to play soccer with the Kids and asked them to go easy on Grampa! And being the oldest club in Ceará state, is called "Vovô" ("Grandpa").

Noted players

- Josimar (1992)
- Pedro Iarley Lima Dantas (2001–2002)
- João Soares da Mota Neto (1997–1998, 2002–2003)
- Sérgio Alves
- Gildo (footballer)
- Tiquinho (Brazilian footballer)
- André Moreira Neles (2009)

Former coaches

- Ferdinando Teixeira (2005-2006)
- Lula Pereira (2008)
- Edmundo Oliveira (2009)
- Ruy Scarpino (2009)
- Zé Teodoro (2009)

Logo evolution

The first logo was the club's first logo as Ceará Sporting Club, and was used from 1915 to 1954.

The second logo was used from 1955 to 1969 and was inspired in Santos Futebol Clube logo.

The third logo was used from 1970 to 2003.

The fourth logo is the current team logo, and was adopted in 2003. The logo is a restylized version of the previous logo. Adman Orlando Mota is the creator of this logo. This logo introduced the white stars and the foundation date.

Ultras groups


© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum