This website is for sale, please contact us for more information


Coritiba is a football (soccer) club from Brazil.

Talk Coritiba

Are you a fan of Coritiba or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Coritiba with other fans on the messageboard here.

Coritiba News

Want to know more about Coritiba? We gather news from various medias about Coritiba and you find them in the news section

About Coritiba

Coritiba Foot Ball Club, commonly known as Coritiba, is a Brazilian Football League Teams from Curitiba, Paraná (state). It's the state's oldest football team and the best classified in the Brazilian Football Confederation and FIFA classifications. Coritiba has been champion in Paraná State 35 times, more times than all Coritiba's rivals combined. Coritiba was champion of the Brazilian Championship once and has the worldwide record of 24 consecutive victories.


In 1909, several youngsters, members of the German community of Curitiba, usually met at Clube Ginástico Teuto-Brasileiro to do gymnastics exhibitions. In September that year, one of these youngsters, called Frederico Fritz Essenfelder, brought a leather football to the club. He explained to his colleagues the rules of football. The youngsters liked the new sport, and started to play football matches at Quartel da Força Pública field. On October 12 that year, they founded Coritibano Football Club. The club was founded at Teatro Hauer.

On October 23, 1909, Coritibano played its first match, in Ponta Grossa city, against Club de Foot-Ball Tiro Pontagrossense, a team formed by the English employees of Ponta Grossa railroad. The match ended 1-0 to the home team. Coritibano players were composed by the club founders: Artur Hauer, Alfredo Labsch, Leopoldo Obladen, Robert Juchsch, Carlos Schlender, Fritz Essenfelder, Carl Maschke, Waldemar Hauer, Rudolf Kastrup, Adolpho Müller, Emílio Dietrich, Erothides Calberg and Arthur Iwersen.

On April 21, 1910, the club's first assembly occurred, which changed the club name to Coritiba. Also João Viana Seiler was chose as the club's first president.

On June 12, 1910, was played the first football match in Curitiba city, at Campo do Prado, in Guabirotuba neighborhood. Coritiba beat Ponta Grossa Foot Ball Club 5-3. Ponta Grossa Foot Ball Club was the new name of Club de Foot-Ball Tiro Pontagrossense.

In 1916, Coritiba won its first title, the Campeonato Paranaense.

In 1985, Coritiba won its first Campeonato Brasileiro Série A, defeating Bangu Atlético Clube, and gaining the right to dispute the following year's Copa Libertadores.

In 2011, Coritiba achieved a worldwide record of 24 consecutive victories, winning the Campeonato Paranaense undefeated and reaching the 2011 Copa do Brasil Finals, against CR Vasco da Gama, losing the first match 1-0, but winning the second 3-2. Under normal regulations, the decision would have gone to penalties, but Copa do Brasil uses the away goal rule, something that no other cup in the world uses in the final.

Club records

- First Match: Coritibano 0x1 Tiro Pontagrossense (October 23, 1909)
- First Official Match: Coritiba 5×3 Ponta Grossa (June 12, 1910)
- First Goal Scorer: Fritz Essenfelter

- Biggest Win (National Competitions): Coritiba 7-1 Ferroviário (Couto Pereira, April 16, 1980), Coritiba 7-1 Desportiva-ES (Couto Pereira, May 4, 1980) & Coritiba 6-0 Palmeiras (Couto Pereira, May 5, 2011)

- Heaviest Defeat (National Competitions): Grêmio 5-0 Coritiba (Olímpico, February 29, 1984) & Palmeiras 5-0 Coritiba (Parque Antártica, August 17, 1996)

- Most Appearances (any competition): Jairo – 440 (1971–77), (1984–87)

- Record Goal Scorer: Duílio Dias – 202 (1954–64)


- Campeonato Brasileiro Série A: 1

- Campeonato Brasileiro Série B: 2

- Torneio do Povo: 1

- Campeonato Paranaense: 35

- Festival Brasileiro de Futebol: 1

- Fita Azul Internacional: 1

- Pierre Colon Trophy (Vichy, France): 1

- Akwaba Trophy (Africa): 1

Couto Pereira

- Name: Estádio Major Antônio Couto Pereira
- Capacity: 37,182 (biggest in Parana State)
- Address: Rua Ubaldino do Amaral, 37
- Record attendance: (General) - 70,000 (Pope John Paul II, 1980)
- Field dimensions: 109,00m x 72,00m
- Year opened: 1932

The stadium was founded as Belfort Duarte. Couto Pereira was the president of the club and he was responsible for the stadium being built. When he died in 1977, the stadium name was changed to Couto Pereira.

Higher scores

Coritiba biggest victories

The 24 consecutive wins

First-team squad

As of February 2012, according to Coritiba Foot Ball Club official website.

Professional players able to play in the junior team

Junior players with first team experience

Out on loan

First-team staff

Symbols and colors

The logo

The club's logo is a green globe with the initials CFC in white on the center, along with twelve white stylized pine seeds. The logo's colors, green and white, are the same as Paraná (state) state flag's.

Coritiba's first logo was very simple: a white background inside a green circle, with the initials CFC in green.

The team kit

Coritiba's first kit was used from 1909 to 1916, and was composed of green and white vertical stripes.

Coritiba's second kit, used from 1916 to 1976 was an all-white one.

The current home kit is composed of a white shirt, with two green parallel horizontal stripes and black shorts and white socks. The away kit is composed of a green and white vertical stripes shirt, black shorts and green socks. These kits were adopted in 1976.


The official club anthem lyrics were composed by Cláudio Ribeiro, and the music by Homero Rébuli. There is also an unofficial anthem, called Coritiba Eterno Campeão (Coritiba Eternal Champion), which was composed (both the lyrics and the music) by Francis Night. A third anthem, which lyrics were composed Vinicius Coelho and the music by Sebastião Lima also call the team the "eternal champion".

The mascot

The club's Mascots of Brazilian football sides is an old man nicknamed Vovô Coxa (Grandpa Coxa), and represents the club's tradition of being the oldest football club of Curitiba.

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum