This website is for sale, please contact us for more information


Paraná is a football (soccer) club from Brazil.

Talk Paraná

Are you a fan of Paraná or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Paraná with other fans on the messageboard here.

Paraná News

Want to know more about Paraná? We gather news from various medias about Paraná and you find them in the news section

About Paraná

Paraná Clube is a Brazilian football (soccer) team. It was established on December 19, 1989, in Curitiba, Paraná (state), Brazil. Its uniform is composed of a blue/red shirt, white shorts and white socks.

It is one of the several Brazilian teams called Tricolor ("tri-coloured") by its fans, because of its three colours.


On December 19, 1989, Paraná Clube was founded by the merger of Esporte Clube Pinheiros (PR) (three times winner of the state championship (1967 as Savóia FC Água Verde, 1984, 1987)), and Colorado Esporte Clube (winner of one state championship (1980)). Rubens Minelli was hired as the club's first manager, and Emerson de Andrade was chosen as the director of football.

The club's first match was played on February 4, 1990, when Coritiba Foot Ball Club beat Paraná 1-0 at the Estádio Couto Pereira.

In 1991, two years after the club's foundation, Paraná won its first Campeonato Paranaense. Later, Paraná would win five state championships in a row, from 1993 to 1997.

In 1992, the club won the Campeonato Brasileiro Série B, gaining the right to compete in the following year's Série A. After 8 years, Paraná Clube won another national championship. In 2000 in Brazilian football, Paraná beat Associação Desportiva São Caetano to win the Yellow Module of the Clube dos 13 2000 Copa Jo.C3.A3o Havelange. This cup replaced the Campeonato Brasileiro (all levels), which had been suspended for one year.

In 2003, Paraná Clube and L.A. Sports, which is a sports marketing company, started a partnership to help Paraná Clube keep its youth academy, and sign new players. In 2005, Paraná Clube created an investment fund to replace L.A. Sports, and, because of this, the partnership was not renewed.

On April 9, 2006, Paraná Clube won the Paraná State League for the 7th time after beating Associação Desportiva Atlética do Paraná of Campo Mourão 3-0 in the Maringá and drawing 1-1 at Pinheirão Stadium. The attendance of the final match was 25,306 supporters.

Paraná Clube's stadium is the Estádio Durival Britto e Silva, also known as the Vila Capanema. It underwent a modernization in 2006, when more than 60 skyboxes were built, as well as new bathrooms and snack bars. The capacity of the "new" Vila Capanema rose to 20,083 spectators, and the inaugural match was held on September 20, 2006 when Paraná beat Fortaleza 2-0 in the Campeonato Brasileiro.

In 2007, Paraná played its first Copa Libertadores match. In the first stage, Paraná eliminated Cobreloa from Chile, winning the first leg 2-0 in Calama, Chile and drawing 1-1 in Curitiba. In the group stage, the club finished in second place. Paraná was eliminated in the Round of 16 by Club Libertad, of Paraguay.


Paraná Clube's official stadium is Vila Capanema Stadium, also known as Vila Capanema. Vila Olímpica Stadium also belongs to Paraná Clube but it is only used for training:

- Estádio Vila Capanema (Vila Capanema): capacity 20,000 spectators.
- Estádio Vila Olímpica (Vila Olímpica): capacity 18,500 spectators.


- Campeonato Brasileiro Série B: 2

- Campeonato Paranaense: 7

- Copa Sul: 0

1In 2000, Paraná Clube won the Copa João Havelange Group Yellow of the Copa João Havelange. This title is not recognized by the Brazilian Football Confederation.

Squad 2011

Youth & reserves team

Out on loan

Technical staff

- Head Coach : Ricardinho
- Coach (sport) : Ageu Gonçalves, Ednélson, Círio Quadros
- Goalkeeper (association football) Coach (sport) : Renato Secco
- Physical Fitness : Darlan Schneider, Fernando Gibran
- Physician : Mohty Domit
- Physical therapy : Edemir Efco Dias, Alvaro
- Massage : Gilmar, Olison


The club's logo has a stylized conifer cone format, in red, with a white contour, and inside there are an azure jay and a white pine. The club's name is written in blue, as well as the word Brasil. The word Clube is written in white.


Paraná's flag is rectangular, divided in two equal parts vertically. The right side is red and the left side is blue.

The mascot

The mascot of Paraná Clube is an Azure Jay, a common bird in Paraná state. The bird is also the symbol of Paraná (state) state.


The Paraná Clube anthem was written by João Arnaldo and Sebastião Lima.


Paraná Clube's colors are red, blue and white. The red color was Colorado's main color, the blue color was Pinheiros' main color, and white was a color adopted by both teams.


Their biggest rivals are from the same city: Clube Atlético Paranaense and Coritiba Foot Ball Club.

Noted players

- Adilson dos Santos
- Adoílson
- Ageu
- Humberlito Borges Teixeira
- Flávio Emídio dos Santos Vieira
- Hélcio
- Lúcio Flávio dos Santos
- Sebastião Marcos Barbosa Oliveira
- Maurílio
- Régis
- Renaldo Lopes da Cruz
- Ricardinho
- Saulo
- Thiago Neves Augusto

Noted coaches

- Sebastião Lazaroni (1989)
- Rubens Minelli
- Vanderlei Luxemburgo (1995)
- Antônio Lopes (1996)
- Geninho (2000)
- Luiz Carlos Saroli (2006)
- Ricardinho (2012–)


Paraná Clube fanbase is distributed mostly in Curitiba and its metropolitan area, as well as Paraná state coast. According to recent polls made by Curitiba's newspaper Gazeta do Povo, Paraná Clube has more than 300,000 fans in the city (almost 15%). The number of fans outside Curitiba is unknown.

Paraná's average attendance is around 12,000 fans per game, which is almost the same number as the general average of the Campeonato Brasileiro in 2006.

Torcida Fúria Independente, also called T.F.I., founded on September 29, 1993, is an organized supporters' group. Another organized supporters' group are Sangue Jovem Paraná, Tricolores do Tarumã, Torcida Desorganizada, and Torcida Virtual Paran@utas, an internet organized supporters' group of Paraná Clube.

Paraná's top-three attendances in Campeonatos Brasileiros

Paraná - Sport Club Corinthians Paulista 0-0, 41,955, November 2, 1994.
Paraná - Sociedade Esportiva Palmeiras 2-4, 36,233, September 24, 1994.
Paraná - São Paulo Futebol Clube 2-2, 35,336, October 16, 1994.

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum