This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Portuguesa São Paulo

Portuguesa São Paulo is a football (soccer) club from Brazil.

Talk Portuguesa São Paulo

Are you a fan of Portuguesa São Paulo or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Portuguesa São Paulo with other fans on the messageboard here.

Portuguesa São Paulo News

Want to know more about Portuguesa São Paulo? We gather news from various medias about Portuguesa São Paulo and you find them in the news section

About Portuguesa São Paulo

Associação Portuguesa de Desportos, usually called Portuguesa or Lusa, is a sports club, and a Brazilian Football League Teams from São Paulo (city) in São Paulo (state), founded on August 14, 1920 by the Portuguese-Brazilian.



On August 14, 1920 (the same day of the 1385 Battle of Aljubarrota), the five Paulista clubs representing the Portugal community of São Paulo (Lusíadas Futebol Club, Portugal Marinhense, Associação Cinco de Outubro, Associação Atlética Marquês de Pombal and Esporte Club Lusitano) met at Salão da Câmara Portuguesa de Comércio to merge, and founded Associação Portuguesa de Esportes. They chose the colors of Portugal: green and red. The club merged with Associação Atlética Mackenzie College in 1920, and was then renamed Mackenzie-Portuguesa.

The 1940s and the 1950s

In 1940, the club changed its name to Associação Portuguesa de Desportos, its current name. In 1956, Portuguesa bought from São Paulo Futebol Clube a big piece of land located in the limits between the northeast and center of the city. In the land, the Estádio do Canindé stadium was built, as well as the official headquarters, offices and social club.

2011 Série B

Portuguesa is the fifth most popular team in the city of São Paulo. In the 2011 season the club participated on the São Paulo State Championship Série A1 (first division) when they were eliminated in the Quarterfinals by São Paulo Futebol Clube, in the Campeonato Brasileiro Série B (second division) and in the Copa do Brasil (Brazilian Cup), when they were eliminated in the First Round by Bangu Atlético Clube.

After a comeback victory against Americana Futebol, on October 22, 2011, the club achieved promotion to Campeonato Brasileiro Série A 2012. On November 8, 2011, after a 2-2 draw against Sport Club do Recife, the club won the 2011 Campeonato Brasileiro Série B, the first national title won by the club. The title crowned a strong campaign by the Lusa side, with 23 Wins, 12 Draws and only 3 losses. The offensive and fast-paced style of play implemented by the team's coach, Jorginho, and the great amount of 82 goals scored led to the nickname of "Barcelusa", referring to FC Barcelona's style of playing. Lusa ended the 2011 Season with a 2-0 win over Associação Desportiva Recreativa e Cultural Icasa, finishing 21 straight games undefeated.


- Campeonato Brasileiro Série B: 1

- Campeonato Paulista: 3

- Campeonato Paulista Série A2: 1

- Torneio Rio-São Paulo: 2

- Copa São Paulo de Juniores: 2

- Campeonato Brasileiro Série A: 1

- Campeonato Brasileiro de Futebol Feminino: 1

- Campeonato Paulista Feminino de Futebol: 2


Sport Club Corinthians Paulista, Sociedade Esportiva Palmeiras, Santos Futebol Clube, São Paulo Futebol Clube, Guarani Futebol Clube and Clube Atlético Juventus.


Portuguesa's stadium is the Estádio do Canindé, built in 1956, with a maximum capacity of 27,500. Following current FIFA safety rules the maximum capacity is 25,470 people.

Logo history

The club's first logo, introduced on August 14, 1920 during the club's foundation, was a Portuguese shield. This logo was chosen to honor Portugal.

The club's second logo, introduced in 1923, had a Cross of Avis bordered by a red outline. The Cross of Avis represents Portuguese independence from the Crown of Castile, which happened after the Battle of Aljubarrota on August 14, 1385.

In 2005, the club's logo design was modernized, and golden trim was added around the red outline.

Team colors

singer Dima Tereza who was nicknamed A Severa, after the Portuguese fado singer Maria Severa Onofriana.

In 1994, Portuguesa changed its mascot. The club's unique original mascot was replaced by a lion wearing the club's home kit. The lion is one of the most common Brazilian football club's mascots.

The anthems

There are two club's anthems. The first anthem, called Hino Rubro-verde (Portuguese language for Red and Green Anthem) is the old one, and was composed by Archimedes Messina and Carlos Leite Guerra.

The second anthem, called Campeões (Portuguese for Champions) is the current club's anthem, and was composed by Roberto Leal and Márcia Lúcia.

First-team squad

As of January 26, 2012

Youth & reserve squad

Out on loan

Famous players

- René Pontoni
- Alexandro Alves do Nascimento
- Ivan Manoel de Oliveira
- Algisto Lorenzato
- Antônio Bento dos Santos
- José Augusto Brandão
- Brandãozinho
- Oleúde José Ribeiro
- Clemer Melo da Silva
- Dener
- Oscar Sales Bueno Filho
- Diogo Luis Santo
- Djalma Santos

- Edu Marangon
- Enéas Camargo
- Evair Aparecido Paulino
- Félix Miéli Venerando
- Ipojucan Lins de Araújo
- Israel Silva Matos de Souza
- Ivair Ferreira
- Jair da Costa
- Júlio Botelho
- Leandro Amaral
- Luís Pereira
- Nininho
- Paulinho McLaren

- José Lázaro Robles
- Ricardo Oliveira
- Roberto Dinamite
- Rodrigo Fabri
- Servílio de Jesus Filho
- Reinaldo Vicente Simão
- Sinval
- Tico (football player)
- José Marcelo Ferreira
- José Maria Rodrigues Alves
- Zé Roberto
- Raimundo Aguilera
- Rodolfo Rodríguez
- Gustavo Biscayzacú

Famous managers

- Aymoré Moreira
- Candinho
- Conrado Ross
- Otto Glória
- Vagner Benazzi
- Estevam Soares
- Mário Sérgio (Brazilian footballer)

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum