This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Heracles Almelo

Heracles Almelo is a football (soccer) club from Netherlands.

Talk Heracles Almelo

Are you a fan of Heracles Almelo or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Heracles Almelo with other fans on the messageboard here.

Heracles Almelo News

Want to know more about Heracles Almelo? We gather news from various medias about Heracles Almelo and you find them in the news section

About Heracles Almelo

Heracles Almelo is a association football club from Almelo, Netherlands.

Heracles Almelo were founded on May 3, 1903 as Heracles, after the demigod son of Zeus. They changed their name on July 1, 1974 to SC Heracles '74 and finally settled on the current name in 1998. The club has won the Dutch national title twice, in 1927 and 1941. One of the club's most famous players was South African Steve Mokone, nicknamed The Black Meteor, the first black football player in the Netherlands ever.

In the 2004/05 season, Heracles won the title in the Eerste Divisie, so that during the 2005/06 season, Heracles played in the Eredivisie, where they finished 13th. The average attendance in 2004/05 was 5,700 people. In the recent top flight seasons this has risen to just over 8,300 (close to the maximum capacity of 8,500).

As of 1 August 2011

For recent transfers, see List of Dutch football transfers summer 2011


Heracles Almelo currently play at the Polman Stadion in Almelo. The Polman Stadion was built in 1999 with a capacity 6,900, this was expanded in 2005 to hold 8,500. The pitch at the Polman Stadion is artificial turf.

Currently there are advanced plans for the building of a new stadium for the club with a capacity of 15,000. The new stadium is predicted to be finished by mid-2013.

Domestic Results

Below is a table with Heracles Almelo's domestic results since the introduction of the Eredivisie in 1956.

Former managers

- Duggie Lochhead (1953-1956)
- Hennie Hollink (1976-79)
- Henk ten Cate (1990-92)
- Azing Griever (1992-95)
- Jan van Staa (1995-1996)
- Gerard Marsman (1996-1998)
- Theo Vonk (1998-1999)
- Fritz Korbach (1999-01)
- Gertjan Verbeek (2001-04), (2009-10)
- Ruud Brood (2006-07)
- Gert Heerkes (2008-09)
- Peter Bosz (2004-06), (2010-)

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum