This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Cerro Porteño

Cerro Porteño is a football (soccer) club from Paraguay.

Talk Cerro Porteño

Are you a fan of Cerro Porteño or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Cerro Porteño with other fans on the messageboard here.

Cerro Porteño News

Want to know more about Cerro Porteño? We gather news from various medias about Cerro Porteño and you find them in the news section

About Cerro Porteño

Club Cerro Porteño is a professional Paraguayan Association football club, based in the neighbourhood of Barrio Obrero (Asunción) in Asunción. Founded in 1912, Cerro has won 28 Primera División de Paraguay titles and is one of the most popular football club in Paraguay. Its main rival is Club Olimpia and head to head matches are known as the Paraguayan football derby.

They play their home games at the Estadio General Pablo Rojas, also known as "La Olla" (the Boiler).


Cerro Porteño was founded on 1 October 1912 by Susana Núñez and a group of young people looking to create a new football club. At the time of Cerro's foundation the situation in Paraguay was tense with instability in the government caused by the fervent rivalries between the two leading political parties, the Colorado Party (Paraguay) and the Authentic Radical Liberal Party. Because of the tensions, the founders of the club decided to use the colors of both parties, red (Colorados) and blue (Liberales), as the club's colors as a symbol of unity and friendship between Paraguayans. Later, white was used on the shorts to complete the colours of the Paraguayan flag.

The club owes its name to the battle fought between the forces of Buenos Aires, Argentina (“the Porteños”) and the Military of Paraguay, in the neighbourhood of the “Cerro Mbaé” (Mbaé Hill) – named after that battle as the Cerro Porteño (Porteño Hill) – on 19 January 1811. During that battle, the troops of Paraguay (at that time a Spanish colony) were abandoned by the Spanish Governor but continued to be led by the Paraguayan officials, who led them to a great victory against the Porteños troops. That battle is known as the "Battle of Cerro Porteño" and is a highlight of Paraguayan military history.

Cerro Porteño is known in Paraguay as "el club del pueblo" (the common people's team) because most of the fans are from lower social classes, as opposed to the fans from rival club Olimpia Asunción whose fans are usually from the upper classes. Because of this, it is said that Cerro Porteño has the biggest number of supporters in Paraguay.

Over the years the club has won a significant number of national championships. However, to date, it has not won any international tournaments despite a few good runs in the Copa Libertadores including semi-final appearances in 1973, 1978, 1993, 1998,1999 and 2011.

Osvaldo Ardiles joined the club as manager in May 2008 but was sacked in August of the same year after a string of poor results and was replaced by Pedro Troglio


The club's nickname "Ciclón" (Cyclone) comes from the national championship play-off in 1918 which was contested between Cerro Porteño and Club Nacional during which Cerro Porteño scored 4 goals in the last 20 minutes of the 3rd match to win the game 4–2. The flurry of goals saw the team referred to as 'the Cyclone'.


The club's home stadium is officially called Estadio General Pablo Rojas, after the club president who was the main proponent of the work, but is better known as "La Olla Azulgrana". It has a capacity of 32,000. Originally, the stadium was supposed to be larger but the plan had to be scaled down due to a shortage of funds available to complete the work.

International Holdings

- Copa Libertadores: 34 appearances

- Copa Sudamericana: 6 appearances


- Paraguayan Primera División (28): 1913, 1915, 1918, 1919, 1935, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1944, 1950, 1954, 1961, 1963, 1966, 1970, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1977, 1987, 1990, 1992, 1994, 1996, 2001 in Paraguayan football, 2004 in Paraguayan football, 2005 in Paraguayan football, Torneo Apertura 2009 (Paraguay)
- Torneo República (3): 1989, 1991, 1995

Notable coaches

- Leonardo Astrada
- Gustavo Costas
- Mario Grana
- Gerardo Martino
- Néstor Rossi
- Javier Torrente
- Pedro Troglio
- Paulo César Carpegiani
- Valdir Espinosa
- Ferenc Puskás
- Salvador Breglia
- Sergio Markarián


As of February 14, 2011.

First Team

On loan

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum