This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Ponte Preta

Ponte Preta is a football (soccer) club from Brazil.

Talk Ponte Preta

Are you a fan of Ponte Preta or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Ponte Preta with other fans on the messageboard here.

Ponte Preta News

Want to know more about Ponte Preta? We gather news from various medias about Ponte Preta and you find them in the news section

About Ponte Preta

Ponte Preta is a Brazilian football (soccer) club located in Campinas, São Paulo (state). Ponte Preta is also known as Macaca. Ponte Preta's biggest rival is from the same city: Guarani Futebol Clube. The games between Ponte Preta and Guarani are known as derby (dérbi in Portuguese language). They are known as "pontepretanos". Ponte Preta is one of the oldest football teams established in Brazil still in activity, founded on August 11, 1900, the oldest being Sport Club Rio Grande, of Rio Grande do Sul.


Ponte Preta was founded on August 11, 1900 by Colégio Culto à Ciência students Miguel do Carmo (nicknamed "Migué"), Luiz Garibaldi Burghi, (nicknamed "Gigette") and Antonio de Oliveira (nicknamed "Tonico Campeão"), nearby a black painted wood railroad bridge, so the name Ponte Preta (which means "black bridge", in English). Ponte Preta's first president was Pedro Vieira da Silva.

Ponte Preta is recognized, by FIFA, as one of the first teams in America to accept black players, since its foundation in 1900. It is also the first countryside team to play a national competition, in 1970.

Pelé's last match in Brazil was against Ponte Preta. On September 2, 1974, at Estádio Vila Belmiro stadium, Santos Futebol Clube defeated Ponte Preta 2-0.

Ponte Preta lost the Campeonato Paulista final to Corinthians in 1977 in a controversial game that ended in a 2-1 final score. Rui Rey, an important piece of the Ponte Preta team, was shown a red card early in the game for no apparent reason. Ponte Preta were considered the favorites for the championship that year.

The club finished in the third position in the 2011 Campeonato Brasileiro Série B, and gained promotion to the 2012 Campeonato Brasileiro Série A.


- Copa São Paulo de Juniores:
- - Winners (2): 1981, 1982

- Campeonato Paulista Série A2:
- - Winners (1): 1969

- Campeonato Paulista Campeonato Paulista do Interior:
- - Winners (1): 2009

- Campeonato Paulista Campeonato Paulista do Interior: 1

Achievements time line

da Divisão Principal - 2º quadro (L.A.F.)
- 1929 Champions - Campeonato Paulista da Divisão Principal - 2º quadro (L.A.F.)
- 1951 Champions - State Amateur Championship (45 games unbeaten)
- 1969 Champions - Campeonato Paulista - Divisão de Accesso
- 1970 Runner-up Campeonato Paulista
- 1977 Runner-up Campeonato Paulista
- 1979 Runner-up Campeonato Paulista
- 1981 Champions - Campeonato Paulista Championship First Stage
- 1981 Runner-up - Campeonato Paulista
- 1981 Third placed - Campeonato Brasileiro Série A

- 1982 Champions - Copa São Paulo de Juniores
- 1991 Champions - Campeonato Paulista de Aspirantes
- 1992 Runner-up Campeonato Paulista - Série A2
- 1995 Runner-up Copa São Paulo de Juniores
- 1997 Runner-up - Brazilian Championship - Série B
- 1998 Runner-up Copa São Paulo de Juniores
- 1999 Runner-up - Campeonato Paulista Série A2
- 2001 Third placed - Copa do Brasil
- 2008 Runner-up - Campeonato Paulista
- 2009 Champions - Campeonato Paulista Campeonato Paulista do Interior
in 1970, against Santos Futebol Clube, with an official public of 33,000, but it is said that there were about 40,000 people, as the gates were broken down.

Its nickname is "Majestoso", meaning the "Majestic One" because it was the third largest stadium in Brazil at the time of its inauguration (only smaller than Pacaembu, in São Paulo and São Januário, in Rio de Janeiro).

In Majestoso's entrance hall there is a bust of the stadium's founder, Moisés Lucarelli (after whom the venue is named) facing the outside. In 2000, after a long series of defeats some superstitious fans argued that the founder ought to see the team playing and the bust was rotated 180 degrees. As the team's performance did not improve noticeably, the statue was put back in its original position.


Ponte Preta supporters are known as "pontepretanos". A Associação Atlética Ponte Preta (AL) from Maceió, Alagoas, adopted a similar name and colors as the Campinas club. There is a Norway futsal club named after Ponte Preta.


Associação Atlética Ponte Preta's biggest rival is from the same city: Guarani Futebol Clube. The games between Ponte Preta and Guarani are known as Derby Campineiro (dérbi in Portuguese language).


The club's Mascots of Brazilian football sides is a female monkey (Macaca) wearing Ponte Preta's home kit. It was initially intended as a derogatory term, reflecting the racism against the club (one of the first Brazilian teams to accept blacks, having been even refused participation in championships due to this) and its fans. This co-option of a derogatory term as team mascot was copied by Sociedade Esportiva Palmeiras fans, who adopted the pig as their mascot instead of taking offence from it, and other teams.



Famous players

- Dicá, skilful midfielder and excellent at dead-ball situations, considered the biggest player ever of Ponte history
- Carlos Roberto Gallo, Brazilian goalkeeper at World Cup 1978, 1982 e 1986
- José Oscar Bernardi, Brazilian defender at World Cup 1978, 1982 and 1986
- José Fernando Polozzi, Brazilian defender at World Cup 1978
- Alcides Fonseca Junior, Brazilian defender at World Cup 1982
- Valdir Peres, Brazilian goalkeeper at World Cup 1974, 1978 and 1982
- Washington Stecanela Cerqueira, Brazilian striker at Confederations Cup 2001, top scorer of Paulista Championship 2001, Brazilian Cup 2001, Campeonato Brasileiro 2004 and 2008

Other Ponte Preta players capped by the Brazilian national team

- Main squad: André Cruz, Fábio Luciano, Mineiro (footballer) and Luís Fabiano
- Olympics, U-21: João Brigatti, Gabriel, Claudinho, Alexandre Negri

Placar magazine's Silver Ball Prize winners while playing on Ponte Preta

- 1977 - Oscar and Polozzi (defenders)
- 1978 - Odirlei (left back)
- 1980 - Carlos (goalkeeper)
- 1981 - Zé Mario (defensive midfielder)
- 1982 - Carlos (goalkeeper) and Juninho (defender)
- 2000 - Mineiro (defensive midfielder)

Other notable players

- André Dias
- Adriano Basso
- Mario Lúcio Duarte Costa
- Átis
- Bruninho
- Chicão
- Ciasca
- Dadá Maravilha
- Darío Alberto Gigena
- Fabiano de Lima Campos Maria
- Fábio Luciano
- Grizzo
- Jair Picerni
- Jorge Pinto Mendonça
- Luís Fabiano
- Manfrini
- Marcelo Borges
- Marco Aurélio
- Mineiro (Footballer)
- Monga
- Nélson Baptista Júnior
- Nenê Santana
- Jorge Osmar Guarnelli
- Pedro Luís
- Ronaldo Rodrigues de Jesus
- Rui Rei
- Samuel
– Football Manager
- Jair Leite – Coach (sport)
- Fábio Moreno – Coach (sport)
- Eduardo Fratini – Goalkeeper (association football) Coach (sport)
- Wiliam Hauptmam – Physical Fitness
- Ricardo Garcia Sandoval – Physical therapy
- Eduardo Bassi – Physical therapy

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum