This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Jeju United

Jeju United is a football (soccer) club from Korea Repulic.

Talk Jeju United

Are you a fan of Jeju United or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Jeju United with other fans on the messageboard here.

Jeju United News

Want to know more about Jeju United? We gather news from various medias about Jeju United and you find them in the news section

About Jeju United

Jeju United Football Club (Korean language:제주 유나이티드 FC) is a South Korean professional Association football club. The club is based in Jeju-do of South Korea.


Jeju United FC was founded on 17 December 1983, as Yukong Football Club, owned and financially supported by the Sunkyoung Group's subsidiary Yukong (now SK Group's SK Energy), with Seoul, Incheon, Gyeonggi as its franchise and Kokkiri (Kokkiri means elephant) as its mascot. The club has lifted the Championship on only one occasion in 1989.

A founding member of the K-League in 1983, Jeju United have undergone several hardships over the years and have struggled to make a serious impact in the Korean Professional Football League.

At the end of 1995 the side moved from the Dongdaemun Stadium in Seoul to the Mokdong Stadium on the western edge of Seoul, as part of K-League's decentralization policy. This policy was carried out due to two reasons. In 1995, Korea was under bidding for 2002 FIFA World Cup. So first reason is that KFA and K-League want to build a soccer-specific stadium in Seoul and second reason is that KFA and K-League want to spread football fever to the provinces. Three clubs based in Seoul – Yukong Kokkiri, FC Seoul, and Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma – didn't accept this policy, so the Seoul government gave an eviction order to the three clubs. However they guaranteed that if clubs built a soccer-specific stadium in Seoul, they could have a Seoul franchise and return to Seoul. As a result, the three clubs were evicted from Seoul to other cities; Yukong Kokkiri moved to the city of Bucheon, a satellite town of Seoul, 25 km away and became as the "Bucheon Yukong." However, Bucheon din't have a stadium, so they used Mokdong Stadium in Seoul until 2000.

Mid-way through the 1997 season the club rebranded itself as "Bucheon FC" and, at the start of the 2001 season, moved to the Bucheon Stadium.

In 2006, Bucheon SK announced their move to Jeju-do without any fore notice, renamed themselves "Jeju United FC," and adopted the vacant Jeju World Cup Stadium as their new home ground.

- Franchise Relocation History

1 During 1983-1986, K-League didn't have home and away system, so franchise relocations were meaningless at that time.
2 Bucheon SK held all home matches at Mokdong Stadium in Seoul until 2000, because Bucheon Stadium was under construction

On January 3, 2008, Jeju appointed Arthur Bernardes Ribas da Silva Filho for new manager.

On October 14, 2009, Arthur Bernardes Ribas da Silva Filho announced his resignation due to Jeju's bad form in the K-League.


Current Squad

Long-term injured player

Out on loan

2012 season transfers



Former Notable players

- József Somogyi (1994-1995, 1996-1997)
- Cheick Oumar Dabo (2002-2004)
- Aleksandr Podshivalov (1994-1997)
- Sergey Burdin (1996-1997)
- Lee Kang-Jo (1983-1985)
- Shin Mun-Seon (1983-1985)
- Lee Jang-Soo (1983-1986)
- Park Yoon-Gi (1983-1986)
- Choi Ki-Bong (1983-1987)
- Kim Yong-Se (1983-1988)
- Choi Yun-Gyeom (1986-1992)
- Noh Soo-Jin (1986-1993)
- Shin Dong-Chul (1986-1993)
- Park Chang-Sun (1987)

- Cho Yoon-Hwan (1987-1990)
- Ha Jae-Hoon (footballer) (1987-1994)
- Lee Kwang-Jong (1988-1995)
- Kim Pyung-Seok (1989-1990)
- Yoo Dae-Soon (1989-1994)
- Kim Bong-Kil (1989-1994)
- Hwangbo Kwan (1989-1995)
- Huh Ki-Tae (1990-1997)
- Cho Jung-Hyun (1992-1998)
- Kang Chul (1993-2000)
- Kim Gi-Dong (1993-2002)
- Lee Yong-Bal (1994-2001)
- Lee Lim-Saeng (1994-2002)
- Yoon Jung-Chun (1994-2004)

- Yoon Jung-Hwan (1995-1999)
- Lee Won-Shik (1996-2003)
- Kim Han-Yoon (1997-2009, 2001-2005)
- Lee Eul-Yong (1998-2002)
- Lee Sung-Jae (footballer) (1999-2003)
- Cho Jin-Ho (footballer) (2000)
- Lee Sang-Yoon (2001)
- Choi Moon-Sik (2002)
- Kim Jae-Sung (2005-2007)
- Cho Yong-Hyung (2005-2006, 2008-2010)
- Koo Ja-Cheol (2007-10)
- Kang Min-Soo (2009)
- Park Hyun-Beom (2010-11)
- Kim Eun-Jung (2010-11)


Coaching staff

Managerial History

- K-League's principle of official statistics is that final club succeeds to predecessor club's


- K-League's principle of official statistics is that final club succeeds to predecessor club's

Domestic Competitions

- K-League
- - Winners (1) : 1989 K-League
- - Runners-up (4) : 1984 K-League, 1994 K-League, 2000 K-League, 2010 K-League
- K-League Cup
- - Winners (3) : 1994 K-League Cup, 1996 K-League Cup (Adidas Cup), 2000 K-League Cup (Supplementary Cup) (K-League Cup (Supplementary Cup))
- - Runners-up (2) : 1998 (Adidas Korea Cup), 1998 (K-League Cup (Supplementary Cup))
- Korean FA Cup
- - Runners-up (1): 2001 Korean FA Cup

International competitions

- King's Cup
- - 3rd (1) : 1990 King's Cup

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum