This website is for sale, please contact us for more information
  • No data

Adelaide City

Adelaide City is a football (soccer) club from Australia.

Talk Adelaide City

Are you a fan of Adelaide City or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Adelaide City with other fans on the messageboard here.

Adelaide City News

Want to know more about Adelaide City? We gather news from various medias about Adelaide City and you find them in the news section

About Adelaide City

Adelaide City is a football (soccer) club in Adelaide, South Australia. They are also known as The Zebras. They played in the National Soccer League (Australia) for 27 Seasons but withdrew just prior to the 2003/2004 season. They now play in the South Australian Super League. City won the inaugural Super League with games to spare after leading for most of the season. They also won the Adelaide United FFSA Cup defeating Adelaide Blue Eagles 4-1 in the final at Hindmarsh Stadium.


The club was founded and primarily followed by people of Italy heritage and originally called Juventus from 1946-1966. In 1966 they became Adelaide Juventus and in 1977 Adelaide City, when Frank Lister captained the team in the inaugural Phillips National Soccer League competition. He later went on to win the 'Golden Boots' award for that year and was inducted into the Football (soccer) in South Australia Hall of Fame in 2004.

The black and white striped shirt also gave the team the nickname of the Zebras.

SA Premier League

2005 Season

Adelaide City were crowned SA Premier League Champions after defeating Adelaide Raiders 2-1 in the Grand Final at Hindmarsh Stadium on Friday 16 September 2005. Adelaide City took the lead just 4 minutes into the match when Nick Budin slotted the ball past Raiders goalkeeper Robert Matosevic. Raiders hit back just before the break through striker Jason Trimboli. The match went into extra time and midway through the second period of extra time a pin point Paul Pezos cross was met by a powerful Adam Osman header to hand Adelaide City their first title since 1974. Adelaide City Midfielder David Paladino was given the award for man of the match.

2006 Season

Adelaide City completed the treble in 2006 winning 3 Innaugral Trophies : The ERREA Pre-season Cup, BEST Super League Championship and FFSA Adelaide United Cup.
City met Raiders in the ERREA cup final in what was a rematch of the previous season's Grand Final. City breezed through winning 5-0.
In the BEST Super League, City fought off tough competition for the majority of the year and ended the season 3 games clear on top of the table with a healthy goal difference.
City then went on to win the FFSA Adelaide United Cup with a comprehensive 4-1 victory over Adelaide Blue Eagles. City opened their account with a 22nd minute header from striker Jonathan Negus. The second came from Deng Mayom who struck the bar with a header only to find the ball back at his feet for a tap in. City Scored again minutes later when Negus' 18yd bullet struck the back of the net. Adelaide Blue Eagles dominated the opening of the 2nd half and did get a goal themselves. Negus completed his hat-trick after a knock on from player-coach Damian Mori left him one on one with the goalkeeper. The final result 4-1. City's Jonathan Negus won the John Kosmina Medal awarded to the best on ground.

Current Squad

Notable former players

- John Aloisi
- John Nyskohus
- Bugsy Nyskohus
- Dino Mennillo
- Fred Young (soccer)
- Joe Mullen
- Louis Brain
- Angelo Costanzo
- Travis Dodd
- Craig Foster
- Iain Fyfe
- Milan Ivanović
- Anthony LaPaglia
- Frank Lister
- Sergio Melta
- David Mitchell (Australian footballer)
- Lucas Pantelis
- Alex Tobin
- Carl Veart
- Aurelio Vidmar
- Tony Vidmar
- Robert Zabica
- David Paladino

- Agenor Muniz (1980)

- Neil Banfield (1981–83)
- Les Carter (1983–84)
- Justin Fashanu

- Dixie Deans (1977-78)
- Derek Ferguson (1999-00)

- Claudio Pelosi
- Gianluca Lagati
- Diego Pellegrini

New Zealand
- Shane Smeltz



- Oceania Club Championship 1987: 1


- National Soccer League Australian League Champions: 3
- National Soccer League Australian Cup Winners: 3

NSL Player Of The Year Award - Johnny Warren Medal

- 1981 Bobby Russell (Adelaide City)
- 1984 Sergio Melta (Adelaide City)
- 1990/1991 Milan Ivanovic (Adelaide City)
- 1995/1996 Damian Mori (Adelaide City)

NSL Grand Final Best Player - Joe Marston Medal

- 1991-92 Alex Tobin (Adelaide City)
- 1992-93 Milan Ivanovic (Adelaide City)
- 1993-94 Alex Tobin (Adelaide City)

NSL Top Scorer Awards

- 1977 Dixie Deans (Adelaide City) - 16
- 1995/1996 Damian Mori (Adelaide City) - 31
- 1997/1998 Damian Mori (Adelaide City) - 19
- 1999/2000 Damian Mori (Adelaide City) - 22

NSL Under 21 Player of the Year

- 1981 David Mitchell (Australian footballer) (Adelaide City)

NSL Coach of the Year

- 1990/1991 Zoran Matic (Adelaide City)
- 1994/1995 Zoran Matic (Adelaide City)
- 1995/1996 John Perin (Adelaide City)


- South Australian Super League: 17
- SA Federation Cup: 15
- South Australian Premier League: 4
- South Australian State League: 1
- South Australian Pre-Season / Summer Cup Competition Winners: 19

South Australian Best & Fairest and Player of the Year Awards

- 1969 West End Medal - Eric Norman
- 1976 John Martin Medal - John Perin

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum