This website is for sale, please contact us for more information
  • No data

West Adelaide Sharks

West Adelaide Sharks is a football (soccer) club from Australia.

Talk West Adelaide Sharks

Are you a fan of West Adelaide Sharks or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss West Adelaide Sharks with other fans on the messageboard here.

West Adelaide Sharks News

Want to know more about West Adelaide Sharks? We gather news from various medias about West Adelaide Sharks and you find them in the news section

About West Adelaide Sharks

West Adelaide Soccer Club is an Australian football (soccer) club from Adelaide, Australia. Currently it plays in the FFSA State League Competition. It participated in the National Soccer League from the 1977 season until the end of the 1998/99 season, except for the periods 1987-89 and 1990-91. It was also known as West Adelaide Hellas and Adelaide Sharks. They played in various blue and white strips, and played most of their NSL home games at Hindmarsh Stadium. In 2008 West Adelaide will play in Blue and White Stripes, Blue Shorts and blue Socks.


The club was formed in 1962 as an amalgamation between West Adelaide Soccer Club (formed 1910) and Hellenic Athletic & Soccer Club (formed 1945 as Olympic Soccer Club) which had been banned by the state association due to spectator violence. Hellas was supported by the local Greek Australian community. The almalgamated club played under the name West Adelaide Hellas, and quickly became one of the dominant clubs in the South Australian 1st Division, winning six titles from 1966-76. Joining the NSL as a foundation member in 1977, in 1978 the club became the only non-Sydney based team to win the NSL championship in the years 1977-1983, a late goal by Vic Bozanic earning a draw against local rival Adelaide City on the final day of the season, which was enough to win the title by a point from Sydney City Soccer Club.

From 1979 until 1986 however, the club struggled, with a best finish of seventh in 1979 for that era, and a failure to make the finals in the conference system years of 1984-86 making them a prime candidate as one of the clubs to be dumped back to the state leagues when the NSL reformed its conference system back to a single division. A three season spell in the South Australian 1st Division followed, which saw two titles and a second place finish. Re-instated to the NSL for the 1989/90 season, the club performed poorly finishing 13th, and was bumped back to the state league for another two year spell, where they won another two titles.

West Adelaide were once again re-instated into the NSL for season 1991/92, and despite another 13th place finish, the club managed to reach the finals in two of the three following seasons. During this time the club also changed its name to the Adelaide Sharks in an attempt to broaden its appeal outside its Greek migrant base. But gradually declining performances on the field, and a worsening financial situation off it, saw the club's senior arm fold at the end of 1998/99 season. The West Adelaide Juniors continued at Park B27 for the next seven years and finally in 2008 were reinstated with seniors. The West Adelaide Soccer Club are currently in the South Australian State League (3rd division) for the 2011 season.


- National Soccer League Australian Champions 1978
- National Soccer League Finalists 1992/1993, 1994/1995
- South Australian 1st Division Champions 1966, 1968, 1969, 1971, 1973, 1976, 1987, 1989, 1990, 1991
- South Australian 2nd Division Champions 1982
- South Australian Federation Cup Winners 1964, 1967, 1999
- South Australian U/19 Federation Cup Winners 1969, 1971,
- South Australian SF Premier Cup Winners 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990
- South Australian Ampol Cup Winners 1964, 1968, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1975, 1976, 1979, 1982, 1988, 1993
- South Australian Coca-Cola Cup Winners 1970, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1986, 1987, 1988
- FFSA Junior U/15 Cup Winners 2007
- FFSA Finals 5 State League Winners 2008

Individual Honours

South Australia Player of the Year
- 1989 - Alby Kidd

National Soccer League Player of the Year
- 1985 - Graham Honeyman

National Soccer League U/21 Player of the Year
- 1977 - John Kosmina
- 1995/1996 - Jim Tsekinis

Current Squads

- Kon Tsacos (GK)
- Lindsay Patterson
- Adam Mehicic (c)
- Luca Di Girolami
- Yianni Sarris
- Spero Koulianos
- Kosta Mantis
- Harry Skoumbros
- Kristian Zefi
- Faustin Machochi
- Zac Elliott
- Kin Maclean
- Yanni Koulocheris
- Meni Haralampopoulos
- Jordan Kallios
- Adam Calandro
COACH - Ross Aloisi

Former players

- Anthony LaPaglia
- Ted DeLyster
- Martin Crook
- Vic Bozanic
- Graham Norris
- Barry Reynolds
- Robbie Dunn
- David Jones (footballer born 1955)
- Paul Agostino
- Stan Lazaridis
- Joel Porter
- Peter Blazincic
- Richie Alagich
- Robbie Hooker
- Ross Aloisi
- Adrian Santrac
- Branko Milosevic
- Jimmy Keramidas
- Lemmy Vatsilas
- Greg Mills
- Paul Pezos
- Lindsay Sanders
- Gilligan Sanders
- Derek Poimer
- Jose Iriarte
- Hugo Gimenez

- Richard Yeeles
- David Pillans
- Billy Birch
- Barry King
- Greg Brown (Australian rules footballer)
- Udo Joske
- Nick Pantelis
- Alex Zervas
- Peter Tsitsos
- Laki Vagianos
- George Koulianos
- Steve Papadopoulos
- Con Cambas
- Loui Christodoulou
- Shraga Topaz
- Graeme Souness
- Graham Honeyman
- Peter Boyle (footballer born 1951)
- Neil Machagy
- Alec Byrne
- Hammy Macmehan
- Ian Magregor
- Brian McLaughlin (footballer born 1954)
- Ray Blair (1989–94) 91 apps 17 goals
- Martin Doak (1989–90)
- Albert Kidd (1987–89)
- Eeli McDilan
- Aleksander Duric

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum