This website is for sale, please contact us for more information


Albacete is a football (soccer) club from Spain.

Talk Albacete

Are you a fan of Albacete or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Albacete with other fans on the messageboard here.

Albacete News

Want to know more about Albacete? We gather news from various medias about Albacete and you find them in the news section

About Albacete

Albacete Balompié, S.A.D. is a List of football clubs in Spain based in Albacete, in the autonomous community of Castile–La Mancha. Founded on 2 August 1940, it currently plays in Segunda División B, holding home matches at Estadio Carlos Belmonte, with a 17,300-seat capacity.


The club was founded in 1940, under the name Albacete Fútbol Asociación, being later changed in an attempt to make it sound "more Spanish". After years playing in the lower leagues, Albacete first played in the Segunda División in 1985–86 Segunda División, repeating the feat five seasons later.

In 1989, Benito Floro consecutively promoted it from Segunda División B to La Liga, overachieving for a seventh place in 1991–92 La Liga. Floro would later coach Real Madrid C.F., returning to Alba two seasons later, as the club were relegated in 1995–96 La Liga.

After years in the second division facing serious economic and sporting difficulties, Albacete returned to the top flight in the 2002–03 Segunda División, led by César Ferrando (later of Atlético Madrid). However, it dropped in 2004–05 La Liga, after just six wins from 38 matches, going on to stabilize in the subsequent seasons in the second level.

The 2010–11 Segunda División brought two coaching changes, with both Antonio Calderón and David Vidal (who returned to the club only a few months after leaving) being fired, as Albacete returned to the third division after 21 years.

On 6 December 2011, Andrés Iniesta - who played for the club in his youth before joining FC Barcelona - became the club's major shareholder, injecting Euro420,000 into the cash-trapped institution. The team managed to 2011–12 Copa del Rey in Copa del Rey nonetheless, notably beating Atlético Madrid 3–1 on aggregate.


Season to season

- 18 seasons in Segunda División
- 8 seasons in Segunda División B
- 29 seasons in Tercera División
- 7 seasons in Divisiones Regionales de Fútbol

Recent seasons

promotion: 1984–85, 1989–90
- La Liga promotion: 1990–91, 2002–03


The club plays its home matches at the Estadio Carlos Belmonte, which has an all-seated capacity of 17,300. Originally built in 1960, the stadium underwent two major redevelopments, the last being in 1998.

- Carlos Roa
- Andy Bernal
- Vali Gasimov
- Ronny Gaspercic
- Marco Etcheverry
- Antônio Carlos Zago
- Ivaylo Andonov
- Albert Meyong
- Mark González
- José Julián de la Cuesta

- Keylor Navas
- Nenad Bjelica
- Ivan Jurić
- Trésor Kandol
- Javier Balboa
- Rachid Rokki
- Moussa Yahaya
- Abass Lawal
- Rommel Fernández
- Nelson Cuevas

- José Antonio Camacho
- Diego Rodríguez Fernández
- Delfí Geli
- Iván Helguera
- Pablo Ibáñez
- Andrés Iniesta
- José Francisco Molina
- Fernando Morientes
- Fernando Navarro
- Salva Ballesta

- Unai Vergara
- Ismael Urzaiz
- Joe Bizera
- Darío Delgado (footballer born 1969)
- Nicolás Olivera
- Antonio Pacheco D'Agosti
- Horacio Peralta
- José Zalazar

- Benito Floro
- Mariano García Remón
- José Murcia
- Julián Rubio
- Iñaki Sáez
- David Vidal
- Víctor Espárrago

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum