This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

FC St.Gallen

FC St.Gallen is a football (soccer) club from Switzerland.

Talk FC St.Gallen

Are you a fan of FC St.Gallen or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss FC St.Gallen with other fans on the messageboard here.

FC St.Gallen News

Want to know more about FC St.Gallen? We gather news from various medias about FC St.Gallen and you find them in the news section

About FC St.Gallen

Football Club St. Gallen 1879 is a Swiss association football club based in St. Gallen. The club is currently playing in the 2011/12 Swiss Challenge League.

Brief history

Having been founded on 19 April 1879, FC St. Gallen are the oldest still existing club in Swiss football. However, the team has had relatively little success in comparison to other clubs. Despite the fact that St. Gallen won the Swiss championship twice in the 1903–04 in Swiss football and 1999–2000 Swiss Football League, the team has mostly been a mid-table side. During the last decade, the strength of the club continually declined and this eventually resulted in the transformation to a yo-yo club. St. Gallen were relegated to the second-tier Swiss Challenge League twice at the end of the 2007–08 Swiss Super League and the 2010–11 Swiss Super League.


FC St. Gallen play their home games at the AFG Arena. The stadium has a capacity of 20,300 and it is on the west side of town. The stadium replaced the former Espenmoos stadium in the east.


The main supporters of FC St. Gallen are called Green Power. The group is one of the largest of its kind in Switzerland. They are referred to as "the Sausage Munchers" by opposition fans as St. Gallen is famous for its bratwurst.


- Swiss Super League: 1903/1904 football season in Switzerland, 1999/2000 football season in Switzerland
- Swiss Cup winners: 1969
- Swiss Cup runner-up: 1945, 1977, 1998
- Anglo Cup runner-up: 1910
- Swiss League Cup winners: 1978
- Swiss League Cup runner-up:: 1982
- Swiss Challenge League: 2008–09 Swiss Challenge League

As of 15 June 2010

Famous players

- Carlos Chaile
- Leandro Fonseca (born 1975)
- Ratinho
- Fabián Estay
- Iván Zamorano
- Goran Ljubojević
- Eduardo Hurtado
- Charles Amoah
- Marco Tardelli
- José Cardozo

- Radosław Gilewicz
- Ionel Gane
- Zoran Pesic
- Tranquillo Barnetta
- Jörg Stiel
- Hakan Yakin
- Marc Zellweger
- Marco Zwyssig
- Stefan Frei
- Frankie Hejduk

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum