This website is for sale, please contact us for more information


Mallorca is a football (soccer) club from Spain.

Talk Mallorca

Are you a fan of Mallorca or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Mallorca with other fans on the messageboard here.

Mallorca News

Want to know more about Mallorca? We gather news from various medias about Mallorca and you find them in the news section

About Mallorca

Real Club Deportivo Mallorca is a List of football clubs in Spain based on Palma, Majorca, in the Balearic Islands. Founded on 5 March 1916, the team currently plays in the La Liga, holding home games at Son Moix.

Team colours are red shirts with black shorts and black socks.


The oldest club in the Balearic Islands, Mallorca was originally founded in 1916 by Adolfo Vázquez, a republican engineer, who named the club Junta Directiva del Alfonso XIII FBC after the then Alfonso XIII of Spain. The first stadium, called Buenos Aires, was inaugurated on 25 March of that year, with a 0–8 loss against FC Barcelona. A year later, the club changed its name to Real Sociedad Alfonso XIII, a denomination which remained until 1931 when, for political reasons, the team was named Club Deportivo Mallorca. In 1949 it was granted royal patronage, thus adding the Real prefix.

In 1931, Mallorca started competing in the national categories. On 22 September 1945, Estadio Lluís Sitjar, the club's new ground, was inaugurated, and the team first reached Segunda División in 1959, and La Liga just 1959–60 Segunda División, going on to appear in the top flight a further four times unti 1975.

In the 1980s/90s, Mallorca bounced back between the top and the second levels, returning for good in 1996–97 Segunda División, after finishing second to champions CP Mérida. In 2002–03 La Liga, under Gregorio Manzano, the team finished ninth in the league, also 2002–03 Copa del Rey the first Copa del Rey trophy in its history, five years after the last presence in the final, defeating Recreativo de Huelva 3–0 in Elche; previously, in 1998–99 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, it 1999 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup Final of the last UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, being downed by Italy's S.S. Lazio 1–2.

On 22 July 2008, it was announced that 96% of Mallorca's shares had been purchased for over GBP50 million by controversial English businessman Paul Davidson. In November, it was revealed that Davidson was unable to complete the deal due to lack of finances, raising questions as to whether his interest was little more than a publicity stunt. On 15 January 2009, Spanish businessman Mateo Alemany purchased the club from the Marti-Mingarro family, returning to the presidency three years after leaving.

In late May 2010, Mallorca declared bankruptcy and applied to the courts to enter voluntary administration with debts estimated between Pound sterling42.5m and £51.3m. It was announced on 28 June that a consortium led by former club manager Lorenzo Serra Ferrer that included tennis superstar and Mallorca native Rafael Nadal had bought the club, and the sale was completed on 9 July.

However, due to the poor financial situation at the club, UEFA decided on 22 July 2010 against granting Mallorca the licence to play in the 2010–11 UEFA Europa League, after the team had qualified to UEFA Europa League after 2009–10 La Liga. Despite the off-field upheavals and financial struggles, Mallorca managed to stay afloat in 2010–11 La Liga, under new manager Michael Laudrup.

Season to season

- 31 seasons in Segunda División
- 2 seasons in Segunda División B
- 12 seasons in Tercera División
- 7 seasons in Divisiones Regionales de Fútbol

The numbers are established according to the official website:

Out on loan

Foreign players 2011–12

- Edson Ramos Silva
- João Victor de Albuquerque Bruno
- Dudu Aouate
- Tomer Hemed
- Akihiro Ienaga
- Pablo Cáceres Rodríguez
- Gonzalo Castro Irizabal

Technical staff

{ (2010)
- :ca:Jaume Cladera Cladera (2010–)


- Copa del Rey: 2002-03 Copa del Rey; Runner-up 1990–91, 1997–98 Copa del Rey
- Supercopa de España: 1998 Supercopa de España; Runner-up 2003 Supercopa de España
- Segunda División: 1959–60 Segunda División, 1964–65 Segunda División
- Segunda División B: 1980–81 Segunda División B
- UEFA Cup Winners' Cup: Runner-up 1998–99 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup



- Best La Liga position: Third (1998–99 La Liga, 2000–01 La Liga)

- Record La Liga win: 7–1 v Recreativo de Huelva (h), 9 March 2008
- Record La Liga defeat: 7–0 v Atlético Madrid (a), 7 February 1988

- Fastest goal: 22 seconds - Daniel García Lara v Real Oviedo, 21 February 1999.
- Most goals scored in a season: 61 (2000–01 La Liga)


- Most appearances: Miguel Ángel Nadal (255)
- Most La Liga goals scored: Samuel Eto'o (54)
- Most La Liga goals in a season: Daniel Güiza - 27 (2007–08 La Liga)

- Pichichi Trophy
- - Daniel Güiza - 27 (2007–08)

- Ricardo Zamora Trophy
- - Carlos Roa - 1998–99 La Liga

Club data

- Address: Estadi Son Moix, Camí dels Reis s/n 07011 Palma de Mallorca
- Phone: 971221221
- Fax: 971452351–971220388 (press)
- Fan Subscribers: 17.000
- Total Attendance in La Liga: 304.713 (2005–06)
- Average Attendance: 16.038 Espectadores (2005–06)
- Official shirt manufacturer: Reial
- Official shirt sponsors:
- Other sponsors: Viajes Iberia, La Caixa, Cocacola, Aquabona, Asepeyo, Centrofoto, Lanjaron, Trablisa, Bancaja, Illes Balears, AMASK8

Stadium information

- Name - Son Moix
- City - Palma de Mallorca
- Capacity - 23,142
- Inauguration - June 1999
- Pitch size - 107 x 69 mts.
- Other Facilities: - Ciudad deportiva Antonio Asensio, Estadi Lluís Sitjar
- Google Maps Location -

Club hymn

Mallorca, Mallorca, tot Mallorca està amb tu;
i sempre direm com el Mallorca no hi ha ningú.

Mallorca, Mallorca,...

Cap amunt, cap amunt! sempre amunt,
sempre amunt! el Mallorca guanyarà.

Cap amunt, cap amunt! sempre amunt,
sempre amunt! el Mallorca triomfarà.

Mallorca!!, Mallorca!!
Mallorca!!, Mallorca!!
Mallorca, Mallorca
tot Mallorca...

Guanyarem, guanyarem!
triomfarem, triomfarem!
el Mallorca és superior!!

Guanyarem, guanyarem!!
triomfarem, triomfarem!!
El Mallorca és superior!!

Listen to hymn at the official website

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum