This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

FC Utrecht

FC Utrecht is a football (soccer) club from Netherlands.

Talk FC Utrecht

Are you a fan of FC Utrecht or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss FC Utrecht with other fans on the messageboard here.

FC Utrecht News

Want to know more about FC Utrecht? We gather news from various medias about FC Utrecht and you find them in the news section

About FC Utrecht

FC Utrecht is a Netherlands association football club founded on 1 July 1970 and based in the city of Utrecht (city). The club's colours are red and white.


FC Utrecht came into being in 1970 as a merger of three clubs from the city of Utrecht (city): DOS, Elinkwijk and Velox.

It never featured in the UEFA Cup after 1991 and had to wait for a further ten years to play European football again.

DOS won the national championship in 1958. FC Utrecht has won the KNVB Cup three times: 1985, 2003 and 2004. In 2004 FC Utrecht won the Johan Cruijff Shield. FC Utrecht was the first club outside the traditional top three AFC Ajax, Feyenoord and PSV Eindhoven to win this Trophy. FC Utrecht is also the only club outside the traditional top three that has never been relegated from the Netherlands Eredivisie.


FC Utrecht's stadium is the Stadion Galgenwaard having been previously first named Galgenwaard and later Nieuw Galgenwaard with a current capacity of 24,426 spectators. The average attendance in 2004/05 was 19,600 people. In the season 2006/07 the average attendance rose to 20,004.


Jan Wouters is the current manager of the team with Rob Alflen as his assistant. Foeke Booy, the previous manager who led the team to two cup titles and a Johan Cruijff Shield, is now the technical director.


On 2 April 2008 it was announced that former owner of Mammoet, Van Seumeren, has taken over 51% of the shares of FC Utrecht. This makes Utrecht the second club in the Netherlands, after AZ (football club), to be owned by investors.

The board of FC Utrecht has further announced that, because of the money they got for this take over, there will be more room for youth facilities and scouting. The board wants FC Utrecht to be competing within the top of the Eredivisie by 2013.


- Eredivisie
- - Winner: Eredivisie 1957–58 (as DOS)

- KNVB Cup
- - Winners: 1984–85 KNVB Cup, 2002–03 KNVB Cup, 2003–04 KNVB Cup
- - Runners-up: 1981–82 KNVB Cup, 2001–02 KNVB Cup

- Johan Cruijff-schaal
- - Winners: Johan_Cruijff_Shield Results
- - Runners-up: Johan_Cruijff_Shield Results

European Cups history

Domestic Results

Below is a table with FC Utrecht's results since the introduction of the Eredivisie in 1956.

As of 8 August 2011.

For recent transfers, see List of Dutch football transfers summer 2011

(on loan from AFC Ajax)

Out on loan

Retired numbers

- 4 David Di Tommaso, posthumous honour

Notable players

- Frans Adelaar
- Co Adriaanse
- Dick Advocaat
- Edson Braafheid
- Joost Broerse
- Tim Cornelisse
- Jean-Paul de Jong
- John de Jong
- Johan de Kock
- Harry Decheiver
- Henk Fräser
- Edwin Gorter
- Gert Kruys
- Rick Kruys
- Dirk Kuyt
- Theo Lucius
- Michael Mols

- Edu Nandlal
- Robin Nelisse
- Erik Pieters
- Kevin Strootman
- Hans van Breukelen
- Dave van den Bergh
- Mitchell van der Gaag
- Jan-Willem van Ede
- Willem van Hanegem
- John van Loen
- Ricky van Wolfswinkel
- Ferdi Vierklau
- Michel Vorm
- Harald Wapenaar
- Erik Willaarts
- Rob Witschge
- Jan Wouters
- Patrick Zwaanswijk

- Tom Caluwé
- Dries Mertens
- Stefaan Tanghe
- Tom Van Mol
- Stijn Vreven
- Jan Wuytens
- Michael Silberbauer
- David Di Tommaso
- Marc-Antoine Fortuné

- Ali Boussaboun
- Adil Ramzi
- Włodzimierz Smolarek
- Scott Booth
- John O'Brien (soccer)
- Igor Gluscevic


- Bert Jacobs (1970–74)
- Jan Rab (1974–76)
- Han Berger (1976–83)
- Barry Hughes (1983–84)
- Nol de Ruiter (1984–87)
- Han Berger (1987–89)
- Cees Loffeld (1989–90)
- Ab Fafié (1990–93)
- Henk Vonk (1993)
- Leo van Veen (1993–95)
- Ton du Chatinier and Henk Vonk (1995)

- Simon Kistemaker (football manager) (1995)
- Nol de Ruiter (1995–96)
- Ronald Spelbos (1996–97)
- Jan Wouters (1997)
- Nol de Ruiter (1997)
- Mark Wotte (1998-00)
- Frans Adelaar (2000–02)
- Foeke Booy (2002–07)
- Willem van Hanegem (2007–08)
- Ton du Chatinier (2008-11)
- Erwin Koeman (2011)
- Jan Wouters (2011-)

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum