This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Racing Santander

Racing Santander is a football (soccer) club from Spain.

Talk Racing Santander

Are you a fan of Racing Santander or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Racing Santander with other fans on the messageboard here.

Racing Santander News

Want to know more about Racing Santander? We gather news from various medias about Racing Santander and you find them in the news section

About Racing Santander

Real Racing Club de Santander, S.A.D. is a List of football clubs in Spain based in Santander, Cantabria, in the autonomous community of Cantabria. Founded in 1913, it currently plays in La Liga, holding home games at Estadio El Sardinero, with a capacity for 22,400 spectators.


Racing de Santander played its first match on 23 February 1913, losing 1–2 to neighbouring Strong. It was officially founded on 14 June, as Santander Racing Club, appearing in its first tournament during that summer (Luis Redonet Trophy) and being admitted to the Northern Federation on 14 November, eventually Mergers and acquisitions with Santander Foot-ball Club.

In 1929, Racing first reached La Liga, lasting nine consecutive seasons in the category - 1930–31 La Liga - and fluctuating between the first and the Segunda División (with four participations in Tercera División) in the following 30 years. In 1949–50 Segunda División, the Cantabrians returned to the top flight after a 10-year absence, scoring 99 goals in only 30 games.

During the period of Francoist Spain, the club was renamed Real Santander in 1941, because of the prohibition of non-Spanish names. The name was restored in 1973 as the team 1972–73 Segunda División one year after 1971–72 Segunda División, under young manager José María Maguregui.

Racing de Santander was 1973–74 La Liga, going on to spend the following years again bouncing between divisions one and two, also 1990–91 Segunda División B in Segunda División B (the new third level, created in 1977) in 1991. Veteran Quique Setién returned to his main club the following year, helping it 1992–93 Segunda División, and scoring in the 1994–95 La Liga against FC Barcelona, in an historic 5–0 home win.

In the 2000's, Racing only played 2001–02 Segunda División in the second division, winning promotion with Setién as manager. In 2007–08 La Liga, under Marcelino García Toral, it finished in sixth position, thus 2008–09 UEFA Cup to the UEFA Europa League for the first time ever; additionally the club reached the semifinals of the Copa del Rey twice during this decade, being ousted by eventual runners-up Getafe CF and Atlético Madrid in 2008 and 2010, respectively.

On 22 January 2011, Indian business tycoon Ahsan Ali Syed, founder and chairman of Western Gulf Advisory, an investment company, purchased Racing de Santander, immediately firing coach Miguel Ángel Portugal.


Recent seasons


- 32 seasons in Segunda División
- 1 seasons in Segunda División B
- 4 seasons in Tercera División

From Racing de Santander B

Notable former players

- Medhi Lacen
- Ezequiel Garay
- Mauricio Pinilla
- Dudu Aouate
- Yossi Benayoun
- Omri Afek
- Mutiu Adepoju
- Euzebiusz Smolarek
- Vladimir Beschastnykh
- Dmitri Radchenko

- Nikola Žigić
- Marcos Alonso Peña
- José Emilio Amavisca
- Sergio Canales
- Francisco Gento
- Pedro Munitis
- Quique Setién
- Olof Mellberg
- Markus Rosenberg

Notable former coaches

- Fred Pentland (1920–21)
- Patrick O'Connell (Irish footballer) (1922–29, 1947–49)
- Gustavo Benítez (1999−01)
- Marcos Alonso Peña (1996–98)
- Marcelino García Toral (2007–08, 2011)
- Andoni Goikoetxea Olaskoaga (2000–01)
- Javier Irureta (1993–94)
- Juan Ramón López Muñiz (2008–09)
- Juan Carlos Mandiá (2009)
- Miguel Ángel Portugal (2006–07, 2009–11)
- Nando Yosu (1977–79, 1996, 1998–99, 2005, 2006)

see also

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum