This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Cambuur Leeuwarden

Cambuur Leeuwarden is a football (soccer) club from Netherlands.

Talk Cambuur Leeuwarden

Are you a fan of Cambuur Leeuwarden or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Cambuur Leeuwarden with other fans on the messageboard here.

Cambuur Leeuwarden News

Want to know more about Cambuur Leeuwarden? We gather news from various medias about Cambuur Leeuwarden and you find them in the news section

About Cambuur Leeuwarden

SC Cambuur , formed on June 19, 1964, is a Netherlands Association football club from Leeuwarden, currently playing in the Eerste Divisie. The club's home ground is the 10,250 seater Cambuur Stadion and they play in yellow shirts and blue shorts. The club's emblem originates from the coat of arms of the House of Cammingha, a Dutch noble family. SC Cambuur played four seasons in the Eredivisie. In 2000 the club went down to the Eerste Divisie and has been there without success until recently. In the eighties and nineties the club was a regular contender in the Eerste Divisie playoffs. Cambuur won the Eerste Divisie title in 1992 and promotion in 1998. Back then Leeuwarder millionaire Jan Riedstra (64) was involved. He left the club in 1999 and after his departure the club went almost bankrupt in 2005. The same Jan Riedstra saved the club with his friends Wim Sleijfer, Dirk Hoekstra and Klaas Buwalda by buying the stadium and clearing the club's debt. Under the leadership of Dutch American /CEO Alex Pama the club has found its way up. Riedstra died in 2009 and before his death mentioned that the club was in good hands with Alex Pama. Pama resigned in February, 2011 due to family reasons and was replaced by Gerald van den Belt.


Cambuur have an ultras, The M.I.-Side, who stand on the South and North stands at Cambuur Stadion. The name comes from the streets where the stands are built: "M" for the Marathonstraat and "I" for the Insulindestraat. Most of the hardcore fans of SC Cambuur now sit close to the away fans on the northern side of the stadium. Although SC Cambuur not being the biggest club in Holland. they got one of the most notorious firms of the Dutch professional football scene. In the 2009/2010 season the club broke all records when the average attendance was 8.600 fans per game and more than 6.500 season tickets were sold. That was a new high for SC Cambuur and remarkable because it was achieved in the second division and those numbers were higher than when the club played in the first division. In 2009 the club almost won the play off serie vs Eredivisie side Roda JC, but eventually lost in penalty kicks. More than 10.000 fans saw the game live in the stadium. On a square downtown Leeuwarden another estimated 8.000 fans watched the game via a big screen. More than 1.4 million people watched the game at home on tv. Another record for Dutch football. In 2010 the club came in second, again nearly missing promotion.

The Ultras Leovardia (In proper English:Fanatic-Leeuwarden) is a part of the fanclub , the fanclub called: Core of Cambuur (in Dutch:Kern-van-Cambuur).


- Eerste Divisie
- - Winner: 1992
- - Runners-up: 1997, 1998, 2010

- Tweede Divisie
- - Winner: 1957, 1965

- Promoted to Eredivisie
- - Promotion: 1992, 1998


Rivals are FC Groningen, FC Zwolle, Go Ahead Eagles, rivalry between Cambuur and SC Heerenveen is fierce and very bitter because both clubs are from the same region. This rivalry is stronger than the one between De Klassieker. You can compare it with Old Firm. In the seventies and eighties Cambuur was bigger than Heerenveen. In the nineties the clubs were equally big in size. After the relegation in 2000, Cambuur lost many fans and corporate sponsors and Heerenveen grew to a much larger club. In 2010, Cambuur has claimed some of the local market back. The fans of both clubs hope that the derby will return one day.

As of 1 August 2011

For recent transfers, see List of Dutch football transfers summer 2011


- Leo Beenhakker (1972–75)
- Nol de Ruiter (1976–80)
- Henk de Jonge (1980–83)
- Theo Verlangen (1983–85)
- Fritz Korbach (1985–88)
- Sandor Popovic (1988–90)

- Rob Baan (1990–92)
- Theo de Jong (1992–93)
- Fritz Korbach (1993–95)
- Han Berger (1995–98)
- Gert Kruys (1998–02)
- Rob McDonald (2002–03)

- Dick de Boer (2003–04)
- Jan Schulting (2005)
- Roy Wesseling (2005–07)
- Gerrie Schouwenaar (2007-replaced Roy Wesseling mid season)
- Jurrie Koolhof (2007–08)
- Stanley Menzo (2008–2010)
- Alfons Arts (2010–)

Notable former players

- Gojko Kuzmanovic
- David Meul
- Willem van der Ark
- Frank Berghuis
- Gregg Berhalter
- Foeke Booy
- Jan Bruin
- Dirk Jan Derksen
- Johan Derksen
- Mark de Vries
- Marinus Dijkhuizen
- Jack de Gier

- Fred Grim
- Jerry Haatrecht
- Winston Haatrecht
- Rene van Rijswijk
- Nico Jan Hoogma
- Johan Abma (mister Cambuur)
- Bert Konterman
- Harry van der Laan
- Stefan Jansen
- Michael Mols
- Robin Nelisse
- Mark Payne (footballer)

- Len Cantello
- Andy King
- Floyd Streete
- Ray Richardson
- Tony McNulty (footballer)
- Bernard Schuiteman
- Jaap Stam
- Erik Tammer
- Guus Uhlenbeek
- Milko Djurovski
- Mitar Mrkela
- Michael Jansen
- Paul Beekmans

Recent history

ImageSize = width:800 height:60
PlotArea = left:10 right:10 bottom:30 top:10
TimeAxis = orientation:horizontal format:yyyy
DateFormat = dd/mm/yyyy
Period = from:01/01/1990 till:01/01/2011
ScaleMajor = unit:year increment:1 start:1990
Colors =
id:bl1 value:rgb(0.9,0.9,0.3)
id:bl2 value:rgb(0.5,0.8,0.5)
id:rs value:rgb(0.8,0.6,0.6)
id:rn value:rgb(0.9,0.1,0.1)

bar:Position width:15 color:white align:center

from:01/01/1990 till:01/01/1991 shift:(0,-4) text:11
from:01/01/1991 till:01/01/1992 shift:(0,-4) text:1
from:01/01/1992 till:01/01/1993 shift:(0,-4) text:14
from:01/01/1993 till:01/01/1994 shift:(0,-4) text:18
from:01/01/1994 till:01/01/1995 shift:(0,-4) text:7
from:01/01/1995 till:01/01/1996 shift:(0,-4) text:6
from:01/01/1996 till:01/01/1997 shift:(0,-4) text:2
from:01/01/1997 till:01/01/1998 shift:(0,-4) text:2
from:01/01/1998 till:01/01/1999 shift:(0,-4) text:15
from:01/01/1999 till:01/01/2000 shift:(0,-4) text:17
from:01/01/2000 till:01/01/2001 shift:(0,-4) text:4
from:01/01/2001 till:01/01/2002 shift:(0,-4) text:7
from:01/01/2002 till:01/01/2003 shift:(0,-4) text:11
from:01/01/2003 till:01/01/2004 shift:(0,-4) text:17
from:01/01/2004 till:01/01/2005 shift:(0,-4) text:9
from:01/01/2005 till:01/01/2006 shift:(0,-4) text:15
from:01/01/2006 till:01/01/2007 shift:(0,-4) text:12
from:01/01/2007 till:01/01/2008 shift:(0,-4) text:17
from:01/01/2008 till:01/01/2009 shift:(0,-4) text:3
from:01/01/2009 till:01/01/2010 shift:(0,-4) text:2
from:01/01/2010 till:01/01/2011 shift:(0,-4) text:5

from:01/01/1990 till:01/01/1992 color:bl1 shift:(0,13) text: "Eerste Divisie"
from:01/01/1992 till:01/01/1994 color:bl2 shift:(0,13) text: "Eredivisie"
from:01/01/1994 till:01/01/1998 color:bl1 shift:(0,13) text: "Eerste Divisie"
from:01/01/1998 till:01/01/2000 color:bl2 shift:(0,13) text: "Eredivisie"
from:01/01/2000 till:01/01/2011 color:bl1 shift:(0,13) text: "Eerste Divisie"


© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum