This website is for sale, please contact us for more information
  • No data

FC Haarlem

FC Haarlem is a football (soccer) club from Netherlands.

Talk FC Haarlem

Are you a fan of FC Haarlem or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss FC Haarlem with other fans on the messageboard here.

FC Haarlem News

Want to know more about FC Haarlem? We gather news from various medias about FC Haarlem and you find them in the news section

About FC Haarlem

HFC Haarlem was a Netherlands association football club from the city of Haarlem, established in 1889. The club won the Eredivisie in 1946 and reached five KNVB Cup, winning in 1902 and 1912. Haarlem reached the second round of the 1982–83 UEFA Cup, losing to FC Spartak Moscow of the Soviet Union.

Haarlem was declared bankrupt on January 25, 2010, and excluded from professional football with immediate effect. Haarlem played its last professional match on January 22, 2010, a 3-0 away loss to SBV Excelsior.

On April 2010, three months after its exclusion from professional football, HFC Haarlem completed a fusion with amateur Tweede Klasse club HFC Kennemerland, the new club being named Haarlem Kennemerland. It is still unknown at what level the team will play in its debut season.


The club was founded on October 1, 1889. Haarlem won the Dutch national title in 1946 and reached five KNVB Cup finals, winning in 1902 and 1912 and losing in 1911, 1914 and 1950. Haarlem won the title in the Eerste Divisie in 1972, 1976 and 1981. In 1982, HFC Haarlem, featuring a young Ruud Gullit, qualified for UEFA Cup football, in which they were eliminated by FC Spartak Moscow in the second round (the match hosted by Spartak is known in Russia because of the Luzhniki disaster that occurred in the stadium after the game). In 1990, Haarlem was relegated to the Eerste Divisie again, in which they played until January 25, 2010.


On August 10, 2009, Haarlem and AFC Ajax announced a partnership. They decided Ajax would loan 1 to 4 players to Haarlem every season, it also meant Ajax would get a say in Haarlem-transfers, and would deploy employees to Haarlem, Cock Jol, brother of Martin Jol supervised the Ajax-Haarlem project.


On January 25, 2010, however, Haarlem was declared bankrupt and was thus according to Dutch league rules excluded from competition, with all its previous results in the 2009–10 Eerste Divisie expunged. The club in its current form ceased to exist, with all its players (and staff) becoming free agents.

In February 2010, HFC Haarlem was reinstated as a new amateur club, who also took the naming and logo rights from the old version. This club then started talks for a potential merger with amateur Tweede Klasse Haarlem-based side HFC Kennemerland, which was announced to have been completed on April 27; the new club will be called Haarlem Kennemerland, and will play home games at Haarlem Stadion, thus continuing the legacy of the old HFC Haarlem.


- Eredivisie
- - Winner: 1946

- KNVB Cup
- - Winner: 1902, 1912
- - Runners-up: 1911, 1914, 1950

- Eerste Divisie
- - Winner: 1972, 1976, 1981

- Tweede Divisie
- - Winner: 1961, 1963, 1967

- Promoted to Eredivisie
- - Promotion: 1969

UEFA Cup run of 1982/1983






ImageSize = width:800 height:60
PlotArea = left:10 right:10 bottom:30 top:10
TimeAxis = orientation:horizontal format:yyyy
DateFormat = dd/mm/yyyy
Period = from:01/01/1990 till:01/01/2009
ScaleMajor = unit:year increment:1 start:1990
Colors =
id:bl1 value:rgb(0.9,0.9,0.3)
id:bl2 value:rgb(0.5,0.8,0.5)
id:rs value:rgb(0.8,0.6,0.6)
id:rn value:rgb(0.9,0.1,0.1)

bar:Position width:15 color:white align:center

from:01/01/1990 till:01/01/1991 shift:(0,-4) text:14
from:01/01/1991 till:01/01/1992 shift:(0,-4) text:10
from:01/01/1992 till:01/01/1993 shift:(0,-4) text:11
from:01/01/1993 till:01/01/1994 shift:(0,-4) text:15
from:01/01/1994 till:01/01/1995 shift:(0,-4) text:16
from:01/01/1995 till:01/01/1996 shift:(0,-4) text:10
from:01/01/1996 till:01/01/1997 shift:(0,-4) text:18
from:01/01/1997 till:01/01/1998 shift:(0,-4) text:15
from:01/01/1998 till:01/01/1999 shift:(0,-4) text:15
from:01/01/1999 till:01/01/2000 shift:(0,-4) text:16
from:01/01/2000 till:01/01/2001 shift:(0,-4) text:17
from:01/01/2001 till:01/01/2002 shift:(0,-4) text:12
from:01/01/2002 till:01/01/2003 shift:(0,-4) text:14
from:01/01/2003 till:01/01/2004 shift:(0,-4) text:13
from:01/01/2004 till:01/01/2005 shift:(0,-4) text:13
from:01/01/2005 till:01/01/2006 shift:(0,-4) text:8
from:01/01/2006 till:01/01/2007 shift:(0,-4) text:14
from:01/01/2007 till:01/01/2008 shift:(0,-4) text:20
from:01/01/2008 till:01/01/2009 shift:(0,-4) text:12

from:01/01/1990 till:01/01/2009 color:bl1 shift:(0,13) text: "Eerste Divisie"

Notable players

- Kick Smit
- Wim Roozen
- Piet Groenenveld
- Gregory Van Der Wiel
- Edgar Manucharyan
- Keith Masefield
- Irfan Bachdim
- Wim Balm
- Milan Berck Beelenkamp
- Benjamin van den Broek
- Johan Derksen
- Barry van Galen
- Ruud Gullit
- Martin Haar
- Hans van de Haar
- Piet Huyg

- Gerrie Kleton
- Piet Keur
- Ortwin Linger
- John Metgod
- Edward Metgod
- Ricardo Moniz
- Luc Nijholt
- Arthur Numan
- Cornelius Pot
- Johnny Rep
- Peter van Velzen
- Menno Willems
- Ryan Holman

Former managers

- Dick Advocaat
- Karel Bonsink
- Hans van Doorneveld
- Barry Hughes
- Heini Otto
- Roy Wesseling
- Gert Aandewiel

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum