This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Paços Ferreira

Paços Ferreira is a football (soccer) club from Portugal.

Talk Paços Ferreira

Are you a fan of Paços Ferreira or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Paços Ferreira with other fans on the messageboard here.

Paços Ferreira News

Want to know more about Paços Ferreira? We gather news from various medias about Paços Ferreira and you find them in the news section

About Paços Ferreira

Futebol Clube Paços de Ferreira is a Portugal Association football based in Paços de Ferreira, Porto District. Founded in 1950, it currently plays in the Primeira Liga, holding home games at the 5,172-seat capacity Estádio da Mata Real, where the team has been based since 1973. Club colours are yellow and green.

Having won the Liga de Honra three times, and achieving in 2006–07 Primeira Liga its first ever qualification for the UEFA Europa League, Paços has a curious habit of playing Spain side Celta de Vigo every pre-season.


The origin of the club dates back to the 1930s, when it was named Sport Club Pacense. It played two decades without any official recognition until it began playing in the lower divisions in the 1950s, under the name Futebol Clube Vasco da Gama, the name eventually given to Brazilian side CR Vasco da Gama. The club then changed the kit colours to the current ones and renamed themselves Futebol Clube Paços de Ferreira.

Their beginnings with the current denomination came on 19 November 1950, beating A.D. Lousada 2–1. Agostinho Alves was the first goal scorer in the history of the Pacenses. The club then played in Portugal's third regional division until the 1956–57 season, where they were crowned champions. The club crest was created in 1961–62, and was used ever since.

The club was relegated and then promoted again and supporters hit the streets of the city on 17 June 1973 when they defeated Perosinho 3–0. One year later, it conquered the Portuguese Third Division on 14 June 1974, after defeating Estrela de Portalegre. The hero of the game was goalscorer Mascarenhas.

After establishing in the Primeira Liga during the 1990s, and suffering a relegation in 2003–04 Primeira Liga, the club finished sixth in 2006–07 Primeira Liga, thus 2007–08 UEFA Cup for the UEFA Europa League, its first ever European competition, led by coach José Mota (football manager) after impressive wins against Sporting Clube de Portugal and ties with S.L. Benfica and F.C. Porto. They were ousted after a good fight, losing 0–1 on aggregate to AZ (football club) of the Netherlands.

Previously, in 2005–06 Primeira Liga, the club started a run of 14 unbeaten games at home which only ended on 22 January 2007, at the hands of Vitória F.C. (1–2).

Having finished last in the league in 2007–08 Primeira Liga, Paços would have normally been relegated to the Liga de Honra, but was readmitted after Boavista F.C.'s confirmed irregularities. In 2008–09 Primeira Liga, already without manager Mota, the team had a reasonably successful season: a comfortable 10th place in the league and a second 2009–10 UEFA Europa League after losing the Taça de Portugal 2008–09 Taça de Portugal to eventual league champions Porto.

As of 5 February 2012 13:35 (UTC)

Out on loan

League and Cup history

- Not relegated due to C.F. Os Belenenses scandal


- Liga de Honra: 1990–91, 1999–00, 2004–05
- Portuguese Third Division: 1973–74
- Taça de Portugal: Runner-up 2008–09 Taça de Portugal
- Supertaça Cândido de Oliveira: Runner-up 2009
- Taça da Liga: Runner-up 2010–11 Taça da Liga

European matches

- 2007–08 UEFA Cup:
- 20/09 Paços de Ferreira 0–1
- 04/10 AZ 0–0 Paços de Ferreira

- 2009–10 UEFA Europa League:
- 16/07 FC Zimbru Chişinău 0–0 Paços de Ferreira
- 23/07 Paços de Ferreira 1–0 Zimbru Chişinău
- 28/07 Bnei Yehuda Tel Aviv FC 1–0 Paços de Ferreira
- 06/08 Paços de Ferreira 0–1 Bnei Yehuda

UEFA rankings

Club ranking eligible for 2010–11

Notable former players

- Aderito Waldemar Alves Carvalho
- Édson Nobre
- Livio Prieto
- Gualberto Mojica
- Gilberto Galdino dos Santos
- Cristiano Moraes Oliveira
- Leandro Fahel Matos
- Gustavo Manduca
- Peterson Peçanha
- Wesley Lopes da Silva
- Nikola Spasov
- Radoslav Zdravkov
- André Bikey

- Alain N'Kong
- Phil Jackson Ibarguen Sanchez
- Didier Ovono
- Pádraig Amond
- Adalberto Manuel Silva Ribeiro
- Cadú (footballer)
- Carlos Carneiro
- Gaspar Azevedo
- Geraldo Alves
- José Emilio Furtado
- José Mota (football manager)
- Mangualde (footballer)
- Marco Ferreira

- Mário Sérgio (Portuguese footballer)
- Miguel Reisinho
- Pedro das Neves Correia
- Pizzi (Portuguese footballer)
- Renato Queirós
- Tulipa (Portuguese footballer)
- Vitorino Antunes
- Zé Manel (footballer)
- Mario Rondón
- Arturo Alvarez

Former managers

- Vítor Oliveira (1988–92)
- Manuel Gonçalves Gomes (1992–93)
- Jaime Pacheco (1993–94)
- Raul Águas (1994–95)
- José Rachão (1995–96)
- Henrique Calisto (1996–97)
- Eurico Gomes (1997–99)
- Henrique Calisto (1999)

- José Mota (football manager) (1999–04)
- José Manuel Martins Teixeira Gomes (2004)
- José Mota (football manager) (2004–08)
- Paulo Sérgio Bento Brito (2008–09)
- Ulisses Morais (2009–10)
- Rui Vitória (2010–11)
- Luís Miguel (footballer) (2011)
- Henrique Calisto (2011–)


The supporters' club, "Ultras Yellow Boys," was founded in 1996, returning afterwards in 2001. Two previous groups, however extinct, existed: "Febre Amarela" and "Yellowmania".

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum