This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

União Leiria

União Leiria is a football (soccer) club from Portugal.

Talk União Leiria

Are you a fan of União Leiria or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss União Leiria with other fans on the messageboard here.

União Leiria News

Want to know more about União Leiria? We gather news from various medias about União Leiria and you find them in the news section

About União Leiria

União Desportiva de Leiria, commonly known as União de Leiria , is a Portugal Association football club based in Leiria, central Portugal. Founded on 6 June 1966, it currently plays in the Primeira Liga, holding home matches at Municipal da Marinha Grande, with a 6,000-seat capacity.

Brief history

Leiria's biggest rivals in Portugal are S.C. Beira-Mar, Associação Naval 1º de Maio and Associação Académica de Coimbra - O.A.F., which belong to the same geographical region.

A heavy contender in the battle to reach UEFA in the 2000s, it was however relegated in the 2007–08 Primeira Liga to the Liga de Honra, after finishing last. Leiria would be immediately 2008–09 Liga de Honra, coming in second after S.C. Olhanense.

League and cup history

and predecessors (1st level)
- 2H: Liga de Honra (2nd level)
- 2DN, 2DC, 2DS: Portuguese Second Division, Northern Zone, Central Zone, Southern Zone (pre-1991: 2nd level; post 1991: 3rd level)
- UC: UEFA Europa League



- Taça de Portugal: Runner-up 2002–03
- Supertaça Cândido de Oliveira: Runner-up 2003
- Liga de Honra: 1997–98
- Portuguese Second Division: 1980–81


- UEFA Intertoto Cup: 2007 UEFA Intertoto Cup


The Estádio Dr. Magalhães Pessoa was built for UEFA Euro 2004 in 2003, hosting during the competition Croatia national football team's matches against Switzerland national football team (0–0) and France national football team (2–2).

It also received the 2006 Supertaça Cândido de Oliveira final between F.C. Porto and Vitória F.C., as well as the following (Sporting Clube de Portugal 1–0 Porto).

The architect who designed the stadium was Tomás Taveira, who also designed stadiums for Euro 2004 which include Beira Mar's Estádio Municipal de Aveiro and Sporting's Estádio José Alvalade. The grounds belong to the Municipality of Leiria.

Due to an excessive rent, Leiria relocated to the Estádio Municipal da Marinha Grande in the nearby town of Marinha Grande Municipality, for the 2011–12 Primeira Liga.

Notable former players

- Marco Airosa
- Derlei
- Helton Arruda
- Maciel Lima Barbosa da Cunha
- Paulo César Rocha Rosa
- Issouf Ouattara
- Saïdou Panandétiguiri
- Mamadou Tall
- Ousseni Zongo
- Roudolphe Douala
- Serge N'Gal
- Marco Soares
- Manuel Iturra
- Damien Tixier
- Alioune Touré
- Michel Souamas
- Kwame Ayew
- Nii Lamptey
- Arvid Smit

- Antoni Łukasiewicz
- André Marques
- Luis Bilro Pereira
- Bruno Vale
- Fábio Felício
- Hugo Almeida
- João Paulo Andrade
- João Paulo Pinto Ribeiro
- Luís Filipe Ângelo Rodrigues Fernandes
- Nuno Laranjeiro
- Nuno Valente
- Paulo Costinha
- Paulo Machado
- Tiago Pereira
- Vítor Manuel Pereira Pontes
- Modou Sougou
- Toñito


- Vieira Nunes (1989–90)
- Luís Campos (1992–93)
- Manuel Cajuda (1993–94, 2002–03)
- Vitor Manuel (1994–96)
- Joaquim Lucas (1996–97)
- Vitor Manuel (1997)
- Vítor Oliveira (1997–98, 2007–08)
- Mário Reis (1998–99, 2002)
- Manuel José de Jesus (1999–00)
- José Mourinho (2001–02)
- Vítor Pontes (2002, 2003–05)
- José Manuel Martins Teixeira Gomes (2005)
- Jorge Jesus (2005–06)
- Domingos Paciência (2006–07)
- Paulo Jorge Rebelo Duarte (2007)
- Paulo Alves (2008)
- Manuel Fernandes (footballer born 1951) (2008–09)
- José Carlos Fernandes Vidigal (2009–10)


The city of Leiria has about 50,000 people. União's fans are called Leirienses, and their main group of supporters is Frente Leiria ("Leiria Front").

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum