This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

SD Eibar

SD Eibar is a football (soccer) club from Spain.

Talk SD Eibar

Are you a fan of SD Eibar or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss SD Eibar with other fans on the messageboard here.

SD Eibar News

Want to know more about SD Eibar? We gather news from various medias about SD Eibar and you find them in the news section

About SD Eibar

Sociedad Deportiva Eibar, S.A.D. is a Spanish football league teams from Eibar, Gipuzkoa, in the autonomous community of Basque Country (autonomous community). Founded on 30 November 1940, it currently plays in Segunda División B.

Eibar plays in azulgrana – claret and blue, with blue shorts, holding home games at Estadio Municipal de Ipurua.


Formed by the merger of Deportivo Gallo and Unión Deportiva Eibarresa, the club was originally known as Eibar Fútbol Club, before changing to Sociedad Deportiva Eibar. Originally an irregular team, it wasn't until the 1943–44 season that it were reorganised into a more full-time unit.

Promoted to the Tercera División in 1950, Eibar achieved promotion to the Segunda División three seasons later, 1957–58 Segunda División, and competing in division three for 25 of the following 28 years (in 1977, Tercera División became the fourth level, after the creation of Segunda División B). In 1988, the team returned to the "silver category".

Eibar club was relegated to the third divisio at the end of 2005–06 Segunda División. However, it won Segunda B (group IV) in 2006–07 Segunda División B and, during the 2006–07 Segunda División Play-Off, won the semi-final tie against CE L'Hospitalet 2–0, beating Rayo Vallecano 2–1 on aggregate in the finals, returning after just a one-year absence.

Season to season

- 5 seasons in Segunda División B
- 28 seasons in Tercera División
- 4 seasons in Divisiones Regionales de Fútbol

(on loan from Gimnàstic de Tarragona)

Honours / Achievements

- Tercera División: 1950–51, 1952–53, 1961–62, 1962–63, 1966–67, 1981–82, 1985–86
- Segunda División B: 1987–88, 2006–07, 2010–11
- Promotion to the Tercera División: 1949–50
- Promotion to the Segunda Division: 1987–88


Eibar's home stadium is Estadio Municipal de Ipurua, which seats 5,250 spectators.

Famous players

- Avimileth Rivas
- Igor Lediakhov
- Manuel Almunia
- Xabi Alonso
- Roberto Echeverria
- Ciriaco Errasti
- Ramón Gabilondo
- José Garate
- Gaizka Garitano Aguirre
- José Ignacio Garmendia
- Pepe Muguerza
- Asier Riesgo
- David Silva
- Aitor López Rekarte
- Federico Magallanes
- Iván Pailos
- Ricardo Varela
see also

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum