This website is for sale, please contact us for more information
  • No data

Real Oviedo

Real Oviedo is a football (soccer) club from Spain.

Talk Real Oviedo

Are you a fan of Real Oviedo or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Real Oviedo with other fans on the messageboard here.

Real Oviedo News

Want to know more about Real Oviedo? We gather news from various medias about Real Oviedo and you find them in the news section

About Real Oviedo

Real Oviedo is a List of football clubs in Spain based in Oviedo, in the autonomous community of Asturias. Founded on 26 March 1926, it currently plays in Segunda División B.

The club plays in blue shirts and white shorts in the Estadio Carlos Tartiere, which seats 30,500 spectators. It was the first team from the region ever to play in La Liga.

In the La Liga All-time La Liga table for the Spanish top division, Oviedo rank in 17th place.


Founded in 1926 after a Mergers and acquisitions with Stadium Ovetense, Oviedo first reached La Liga seven years later. Between 1933–36, the team gained success because of their revolutionary approach to football tactics. Their attacking quartet of Emilín, Galé, Eduardo Herrera Bueno and Isidro Lángara (all represented Spain national football team in this period), as well as Casuco and Ricardo Gallart modernised the game with their pace and running off the ball tied with sharp passing and one-touch football, played in a style 30/40 years before its time, being dubbed Delanteras Eléctricas ("The electric forwards"); all this was connected with a rigid training and fitness regime started by a former manager of the club, England Fred Pentland.

Lángara won the Pichichi Trophy three years in a row prior to the Spanish Civil War, as Oviedo broke all scoring records (174 goals in 62 league games). With the outbreak of the conflict, however, the team broke up: Lángara emigrated to South America, Herrerita and Emilín signed with FC Barcelona, Galé with Racing de Santander and Gallart with Racing de Ferrol.

When football in the country resumed in 1939, Oviedo were relegated to the Segunda División, as their pitch was deemed unplayable — Francisco Franco's troops had used the stadium as an ammunition dump. During the following decades, the club bounced back between the first (38 seasons) and second levels (32), the high point being qualifying for the UEFA Europa League after finishing a best-ever third in 1962–63 La Liga (ranking joint-first with Real Madrid C.F. after the first 15 rounds), while the lowest was the side's first relegation to Segunda División B, in 1978 (for a single season).

With the FIFA World Cup to be held 1982 FIFA World Cup, the Estadio Carlos Tartiere was completely renewed, the first match being held with the Chile national football team (0–0). In 1984–85, Oviedo won the soon-to-be-defunct Copa de la Liga (second division), after successively defeating UD Salamanca, Bilbao Athletic, CF Lorca Deportiva, CE Sabadell FC and Atlético Madrid B (the latter with a 2–1 aggregate in the final).

In 1988, Oviedo returned to the top division, after ousting RCD Mallorca in the promotion playoffs (2–1 on aggregate, with Forward (association football) Carlos Antonio Muñoz Cobo, who would feature prominently for the club in the following years, scoring one of the goals), and remained in that level for 13 consecutive seasons - in 1990–91 La Liga it finished sixth, 1991–92 UEFA Cup once again for Europe, and being knocked out in the first round by Genoa C.F.C of Italy (2–3, although Oviedo bounced back from that defeat immediately, with a 2–1 win at the Camp Nou, over Barcelona).

After being relegated two consecutive times, Real Oviedo suffered severe economic troubles, which, when coupled with a profound lack of institutional support from the city's government, resulted in the team's inability to pay its players. The club was then forced to drop all the way to the Tercera División of Spanish football league system, for the 2003–04 season. At this point the team nearly folded, but eventually recovered and regrouped, returning to level three in the following campaign.

Oviedo lasted two further seasons before dropping down a level again. In another playoff against a Mallorca team - this time RCD Mallorca B, the club returned again to the third division, after a Penalty shootout (association football); however, its survival remained at risk in the following years, due to continuing financial difficulties.

Season to season

- 32 seasons in Segunda División
- 6 seasons in Segunda División B
- 4 seasons in Tercera División

The numbers are established according to the official website:

Notable former players

This list of former players includes those who received international caps while playing for the team, made significant contributions to the team in terms of appearances or goals while playing for the team, or who made significant contributions to the sport either before they played for the team, or after they left. It is clearly not yet complete and all inclusive, and additions and refinements will continue to be made over time.

- Fernando Gamboa
- Gert Claessens
- Janko Janković
- Nikola Jerkan
- Robert Prosinečki
- Peter Møller
- Stan Collymore
- Kily Álvarez
- Yago Alonso-Fueyo Sako
- Idrissa Keita
- Mitko Stojkovski
- Franck Rabarivony
- José Manuel de la Torre
- Julio Dely Valdés
- Florencio Amarilla
- Ramón Hicks
- Paulo Bento
- Abel Xavier
- Marius Lăcătuş
- Nicolae Simatoc
- Viktor Onopko
- Slaviša Jokanović
- Albert Nađ
- Veljko Paunović
- Peter Dubovský
- Jesús Alonso Fernández
- Álvaro Rodríguez Ros
- Luis Aragonés
- Esteban Areta
- Carlos Antonio Muñoz Cobo
- César Martín
- Thomas Christiansen
- Cristóbal Parralo
- Lluís Elcacho
- Vicente Engonga
- Jesús Herrera Alonso
- Isidro Lángara
- Marianín
- Oli (footballer)
- Francisco García Gómez
- Mariano García Remón
- Antonio Rivas (footballer)
- Francisco Javier Uría
- Pedro Zaballa
- Bruno Berner
- Juan González (Uruguayan footballer)
- Rafael Ponzo
- Milovan Đorić
- Ratomir Dujković
- Nenad Gračan
- Đorđe Tomić
in 2008. Vetusta was also the original name of the team, before the Royal Spanish Football Federation decree which banned unique reserve club names in the early 1990s.

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum