This website is for sale, please contact us for more information
  • No data

UE Lleida

UE Lleida is a football (soccer) club from Spain.

Talk UE Lleida

Are you a fan of UE Lleida or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss UE Lleida with other fans on the messageboard here.

UE Lleida News

Want to know more about UE Lleida? We gather news from various medias about UE Lleida and you find them in the news section

About UE Lleida

Unió Esportiva Lleida was a List of football clubs in Spain based in Lleida, in the autonomous community of Catalonia. Originally founded as Lérida Balompié-AEM on 30 October 1939, it became Unión Deportiva Lérida in 1947, after a merger with CD Leridano. Dissolved in 2011, it held home matches at Camp d´Esports, with a 13,500-seat capacity.

Lleida adopted the Catalan language version of its name in 1978. The club has spent most of its history in the lower divisions. However, in the early 1950s and early 1990s, the club won promotion to La Liga.

During the 1990s the club was managed by José Manuel Esnal, Juande Ramos and Víctor Muñoz. All three subsequently became successful managers with other clubs. Since 1987 the club has organised its own summer trophy, the Ciutat de Lleida Trophy.


Early Lleida football clubs

Football was first introduced to Lleida in 1910 by Manuel Azoz, a Barcelona business man. Among the earliest clubs in the city were Montserrat, founded in 1913 by Marist Brothers, and FC Lleida founded in 1914. Both played their early games in the district of Pla d’en Gardeny. In 1915, the Associació Cultural Lleidatana was founded by Catalan nationalism.

By 1917 two other clubs, Club Colonial and Athlètic Metalúrgic, began playing at the Camp de Mart. In 1918 FC Joventut was formed by Young Republican Left of Catalonia and during the 1920s they emerged as the city’s strongest side.

In 1919, Lleida became the first club to use the Camp d´Esports, but this team was dissolved in 1927. Other clubs of the 1920s included AE Lleida Calaveres, Lleida Sport Club and AEM Lleida, all of which disappeared during the 1930s.

Lérida Balompié and CD Leridano

After the Spanish Civil War, former members of AE Lleida Calaveres, Lleida Sport Club and AEM Lleida formed Lérida Balompié-AEM. After playing in regional leagues for four seasons they made their debut in the Tercera División in 1943. The following year, the club split into two separate clubs, Lérida Balompié and AEM.

Meanwhile, in 1941 Spanish nationalists formed CD Leridano, and a local rivalry developed between that club and Lérida Balompié. On March 9, 1947, these two sides merged to become Unión Deportiva Lérida. The new team retained both the blue and white colours and club shield of Lérida Balompié, the first president of the new club being Eduard Estadella.

First golden era

UD Lérida enjoyed a golden age in the late 1940s and early 1950s, when they progressed from the third to the La Liga in just three seasons. In 1949, they won the third-tier and, the following season, 1949–50, they made their debut in Segunda División.

The season saw the club achieve their biggest league in history, 9–2 win against CD Lugo, as it also finished runner-up in the league, which meant promotion to the topflight for the first time ever. However, during 1950–51 La Liga, it was heavily defeated on several occasions: 9–0 to CD Málaga, 10–1 to Deportivo de La Coruña and 10–0 to Athletic Bilbao, being ultimately relegated back. Lleida's first eleven in the first division was: Rivero, Rigau, Telechea, Carrillo, Esquerda, Roca, Gausí, Pellicer, Ramón, Bidegain and Fustero.

The Mané era

In the late 1980s and early 1990s, Lleida enjoyed a second solid moment, under coach José Manuel Esnal. He joined the club in 1988 and took it from Segunda División B to La Liga.

1993–94 La Liga was the second topflight experience for the club; in spite of a 1–0 win over the FC Barcelona Dream Team at the Camp Nou, and another against Real Madrid C.F., 2–1 at home, Lleida only won seven times altogether and was relegated once again.

The 1994–95 Segunda División saw the club finish third in the second division, with a subsequent promotion play-off defeat against Sporting de Gijón. In 2001, the team returned to level three and, in 2004–05 Segunda División and 2005–06 Segunda División, played again in the second division. From 1996 and during an entire decade (with some interruptions), legendary player Miguel Ángel Rubio Bueno served as its manager.


On 10 May 2011, Lleida was placed in a liquidation auction due to a Euro28.000.000 debt. On 12 July, the team's seat was acquired by local entrepreneur Sisco Pujol, with the new club being named Lleida Esportiu.



- Segunda División: 1992–93 Segunda División
- Segunda División B: 1989–90 Segunda División B, 2003–04 Segunda División B
- Tercera División: 1948–49
- Divisiones Regionales de Fútbol: 1970–71
- Divisiones Regionales de Fútbol: 1939–40, 1940–41
- Copa Catalunya: Runner-up 1991–92, 1998–99


- Nostra Catalunya Trophy: 1974, 1975, 1977, 1981, 1986, 1987, 1990
- Ciutat de Lleida Trophy: 1987, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008



- Best league performance: 16th, La Liga, 1950–51 La Liga
- Best cup performance: Last 16 (six times), 1986, 1993, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2005
- Most league points: 68, 2003–04 Segunda División B (three points for a win) 60, 1957–58 (two points for a win)
- Most league goals: 102, 1957–58
- Most league wins in one season: 26, 1957–58
- Best league win home: 9–0 v. Calella, 30 November 1941
- Best league win away: 8–1 v. CE Europa, 22 February 1942
- Best cup win: 7–0 v. UE Sant Andreu, 19 December 1985


- Most league appearances: 460, Miguel Ángel Rubio Bueno (1982–96)
- Most league goals: 82, Mariano Azcona (1984–91)
- Most league goals in a season: 25, Mariano Azcona (1989–90)
- Most league goals in a match: 5, Mariano Azcona 6–1 v. UD Fraga, 15 October 1989 and Vallejo 7–1 v. Deportivo Alavés, 23 May 1965
- Most international appearances: 12, Miguel Mea Vitali (Venezuela national football team) (2000–01)

Selected former players

Only international players or UEFA Champions League winners. Flags represent national teams player appeared for.
- Estanislao Basora (1955–56)
- Carles Busquets (1999–2003)
- José Cano López (1975–76)
- Enric Gensana (1954–56)
- Marià Gonzalvo (1955–56)
- Tomás Hernández (1955–56)
- Eladio Silvestre (1960–61)
- Raúl Tamudo (1999)
- Unai Vergara (2005–07)
- Ali Benhalima (1990–93)
- Renaldo Lopes da Cruz (2000–01)
- Mate Bilić (2005–06)
- Goran Stanić (1998–2000)
- Michael Emenalo (1997–98)
- Carlos González (paraguayan footballer) (2000–01)
- Melanio Olmedo (1956–57)
- Ilija Stolica (1998–00)
- Dmitri Kuznetsov (1994–95)
- Julio Rodríguez (1995–98)
- Gustavo Matosas (1993–94)
- Manny Lagos (1991–92)
- Miguel Mea Vitali (2000–01)
- Boban Babunski (1994–96)
- Jovan Stanković (2004–05)
- Mauro Ravnić (1992–94)
- Víctor Muñoz (1999–2000)
- Juan José Nogués (1954–55)
- Juande Ramos (1997–98)
- Manuel Ruiz Sosa (1971–72)
- Marcel Domingo (1962–63)
- Miklós Szegedi (1959–60)

see also


- Sebastià Tàpies: 1939–40
- Joan Porta: 1941–47
- Eduard Estadella: 1947–51
- Llorenç Agustí: 1951–54
- Josep Servat: 1954–57
- Antoni Rocafort: 1957
- Laureà Torres: 1957–60
- Antoni Teixidó: 1960–62
- Ramon Vilaltella: 1962–67
- Josep Jové: 1967–68
- Pere Roig: 1968–69
- Manel Rosell: 1969–70
- Miquel Martínez: 1970–72
- Josep Montañola: 1972–74
- Lluís Nadal: 1974–77
- Josep Esteve: 1977–79
- Joan Planes: 1979–82
- Antoni Gausí: 1982–86
- Màrius Durán: 1986–96
- Josep Lluís: González 1996–97
- Màrius Durán: 1997–98
- Antoni Gausí: 1998–2002
- Miquel Pons: 2002–06
- Xavier Massana: 2006–07
- Ignasi Rivadulla: 2007–10
- Anabel Junyent: 2010–11

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum