This website is for sale, please contact us for more information

Strømsgodset IF

Strømsgodset IF is a football (soccer) club from Norway.

Talk Strømsgodset IF

Are you a fan of Strømsgodset IF or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Strømsgodset IF with other fans on the messageboard here.

Strømsgodset IF News

Want to know more about Strømsgodset IF? We gather news from various medias about Strømsgodset IF and you find them in the news section

About Strømsgodset IF

Strømsgodset IF is a Norway multi-sports club from Gulskogen in Drammen. It has sections for association football, team handball and bandy, but is best known for the top-level football section known as Strømsgodset Toppfotball, which currently plays in the Tippeligaen. The club was founded February 10, 1907, but was most successful in the late 1960s and early 1970s, led by the young striker Steinar Pettersen and his class-mates, who got Strømsgodset from division 4 to the Tippeligaen in just a few years. Strømsgodset won the Norwegian Premier League in 1970 and have won the Norwegian Football Cup in 1969, 1970, 1973, 1991, and 2010. The famous team from the 60s and 70s was popular as the "Rødgata Boys", after the street most of them lived in. Most of these players were also accomplished bandy players, and Strømsgodset won four Championships in "the winter version of football". Four of the football players collected silver medals in the bandy World Championships in 1965; Steinar Pettersen, Inge Thun, Thorodd Presberg and Ole Johnny Friise.

In 1997, Strømsgodset had one of the best seasons in recent times, finishing 3rd in the Tippeligaen and runners up the Norwegian Football Cup. In 2010, Strømsgodset had the best season since 1997, finishing 7th in the Tippeligaen and winning the Norwegian Football Cup. This was Strømsgodset's first cupwin in 19 years.

Before the 2006 season 'Godset' were saved from bankruptcy by a group of investors. This gave rise to a "new version" of Strømsgodset IF, with the club signing 13 new players before the 2006 season and letting 15 players go. Strømsgodset swiftly achieved promotion to the Tippeligaen at the first attempt, captained by the legendary Øyvind Leonhardsen. Winger Mattias Andersson (footballer) finished as the top scorer for the division with 21 goals to his name.
The club is also well known in England for being beaten by Liverpool F.C by 11–0 in 1974.
The club has a loyal supportersclub in GodsetUnionen.

Home ground

Strømsgodset IF play their home games at Marienlyst Stadion. Marienlyst Stadion has a current capacity of approx. 7500. There are 5400 seats on the sides and 1100 seats at one of the ends.In addition a further 1100 can be placed in a non seated section called klokkesvingen. Record attendance through all times is 16.687 against Rosenborg BK in 1969.

The stadium often goes under the name of "Gamle Gress" (meaning "Old turf")

Field measurements are 106 m x 68 m.

The turf has now been replaced with an artificial grass surface, as well as being fitted with an artificial icing surface for bandy.

Marienlyst Stadion was frequently used in Norway's U21 International matches, but has now been replaced by other stadia.

The club wanted out of the stadium to a proposed new stadium at Sundland, nearer to their "birthplace", which was to open for the 2010 season. When financing fell through, the club begged to stay at the stadium, even though other plans had been made for it.


- Norwegian Premier League:
- - Winners (1): 1970

- Norwegian Football Cup:
- - Winners (5): 1969, 1970, 1973, 1991, 2010
- - Runners-up (2): 1993, 1997

Strømsgodset in Europe

Recent history


Coaching staff

- Coach: Ronny Deila
- Assistant coach: Thomas André Ødegaard
- Goalkeeper / reserves coach: Thomas André Ødegaard
- Player development coach: Bjørn Petter Ingebretsen
- Physio / physical trainer: Audun Vestmoen

Administrative staff

- Chairman: Tom Saxegaard
- Director: Erik Espeseth
- Director of football: Jostein Flo

Previous managers

- Yngvar Lindbo-Hansen (1952)
- Karl Olav Dahlbak (1953)
- Johan Wiig (1954)
- Gunnar Hovde (1955–1959)
- Kåre Nielsen (1960)
- Erling Carlsen (1961)
- Gunnar Hovde (1962)
- Einar Larsen (1963–1966)
- Ragnar Larsen (1967)
- Asmund Sandli (1968)
- Einar Larsen (1969–1970)
- Steinar Johansen (1971)
- Knut Osnes (1972)
- Erik Eriksen (1973–1974)
- Einar Larsen (1975)
- Thorodd Presberg (1976–1977)

- Arild Mathisen (1978)
- Steinar Pettersen (1979)
- Terje Dokken (1980–82)
- Einar Sigmundstad (1983–84)
- Bjørn Odmar Andersen (1985)
- Erik Eriksen (1986)
- Terje Dokken (1987–88)
- Einar Sigmundstad (1989–90)
- Tor Røste Fossen (1991)
- Hallvar Thoresen (1992)
- Dag Vidar Kristoffersen (1993–98)
- Jens Martin Støten (1999)
- Arne Dokken (2000–02)
- Vidar Davidsen (2003–04)
- Anders Jacobsen (footballer) (2005)
- Dag Eilev Fagermo (2006–07)

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum